Help us as we aim for a self sufficient life style on our hobby farm in Mullumbimby, Australia

Country

Australia

Favourited 22 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    02/09/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I have lived here for 35years and wanted to live a self sufficient life style. That dream lives on by living on the land with the wallbies and echidnas. I work as a manager of holiday apartments in Byron Bay which I love doing. The other person living on the property is a gardener/mosaic artist who set up the garden at the Chrystal Castle just up the hill from Mullumbimby. She has built a studio at the front of the property and we share the joy of gardening and working the land together.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    Animal Care
    Art Projects

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We have a set up where we have a hobby farm as well as a career and we can share how we manage that here on the Far north coast of Australia

  • Help

    Help

    We have an organic vegetable garden, chickens and an orchard. We need help with, sewing...seeds that is, watering, planting vegies and ornamental plants, coming up with ideas on eg keeping chickens out of veggie garden but getting chickens to do weeding work for us. So being creative on the land.

  • Languages spoken

    Czech: Fluent
    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    we have a two bedroom apartment fully self contained, modern, own entrance, so relatively private. there is one queen bed and the second bedroom has a single bed. Couples with children welcome.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Own transport is essential here and are 20 min drive to Byron Bay, so we have lovely beaches and off course the rainforest in the hinterland.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    2-3 hrs per day



Host ref number: 184984368391