Join and help us in our vegan eco farm - practice permaculture, art and landscaping design in Portugal

Country

Portugal

Favourited 357 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    20/09/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    316

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    76.5 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 13 days

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 3 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hey here!
    I'm back to the land after 3 months, there's a lot of projects to do and I need your help.
    I need help especially with landscaping and gardening, cleaning and general tasks.

    Minimum stay is 3 weeks but I prefer longer stays.

    Driving is an initial part of the help I ask for, so I'm looking for people with a proper manual driver's license and good experience with driving.

    - Sorry for my low replay rates, I had problems with the internet, but now it's good. -

    The farm Is 7 hectares of beautiful mountains landscapes, we grow citrus trees, yellow and red plum trees, bamboos, and Strawberry trees (medronho). We get water from our well, the farm is not off grid so we do have electricity, limited WIFI and such.

    We have an organic garden and field, big kitchen with dinning room and living room, outdoor and indoor showers with hot water, outdoor composting toilets, private accommodation for guests and volunteers.


    My name is Lee.
    I came to Portugal two year ago from a big city, I decided that I prefer to live with trees than with buildings around me.
    Since I'm here i'm learning a lot every day and I'm meeting interesting and nice persons.
    I'm vegan and I like healthy food, juices and smoothies. I like to practice art, music, aromatherapy and cooking as well.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Learn, share and help to create our vision while enjoying amazing landscapes and good vibes :)

    Learn and practice: permaculture and organic gardening, building with wood and natural materials, landscaping design, craft and art, aromatherapy and medicinal herbs, cooking fresh and vegan food, and more.

    Practice self-sufficient while learning, sharing, meeting new people and reconnect with nature and mostly with yourself.

  • Help

    Help

    I'm looking for an independent, responsible and creative helpers who are not afraid to get their hands dirty! :)

    I currently prefer a couple than a single volunteer.
    Driving license is necessary.
    Organic agriculture or permaculture experience is a plus, but it's not mandatory.

    I'm looking especially for individuals who enjoy to work and spend time by themselves, I'm living here on my own and sometimes you'll be the only volunteer here.


    Type of tasks:

    General:
    Driving (usually 2-3 a week), cleaning, organizing, cooking, washing, dog sitting and walking (when needed), painting, treating wood and other materials, helping with general projects.

    Landscaping:
    Collecting natural materials from the area (wood, stones, straw), clear paths and areas, level the ground, dig the soil and cover areas, fencing, building and fixing (with natural materials and wood), collecting and digging manure, use hand tools and power tools, dig steps or terraces, lifting and bringing materials where needed, building furnitures and garden constructions.

    Gardening:
    Sowing, transplanting and planting, fertilize and work the soil, weeding, mulching, maintain the garden area, pruning, build trellises and covers, carry soil and compost, harvest, planting trees and big plants.


    Monday - Friday
    9:00 - 12:00 and 14:00 - 16:00 (winter).
    10:00 - 13:00 and 15:00 - 17:00 (summer)

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English. Hebrew, Spanish.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Sleeping options:
    In a geodesic dome house with isolation and electricity (for 2).
    In a big geodesic dome tent (has no door)
    In your own tent, van or mobile home.

    Kitchen:
    The kitchen is a big geodesic dome with a dining area, living room with sitting areas, wifi, washer and dryer, and fully equipped kitchen. Basic vegan*️️️️ food is included.
    *️️️️The kitchen and farm are vegan only, which means we eat no meat, fish, dairy or eggs and we don't bring inside the farm any of that.

    Toilets:
    Outdoor with rooftop composting toilets.

    Shower:
    Outdoor bamboo shower with rooftop, hot water, and a beautiful view.
    For the winter we have an indoor shower option.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The nearest cities are Odemira and Ourique.
    You can get to us by train from Lisbon or faro.
    Our nearest train stations are Amoreiras and Funcheira.

    Our place is close to the sea and Santa Clara lake (about 35km).
    There's a lot of alternative communities, markets, events, and retreats in this area.
    The area of our place is famous mostly because of Mooji and Tamera.
    Rota Vicentina is also closed by.
    There are also nice big field with lakes, 5 minutes walk from the place.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

The kitchen, view from the garden.
Kitchen and garden view
Our new medicine wheel garden.
100% vegan :)
Our outdoor shower
Kitchen and volunteer's accommodation from above
our land from above
Host ref number: 183886312886