Join us to help with dogs, horses, in our home and garden in Kildare, Ireland

Country

Ireland

Favourited 451 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    31  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    15/09/2021

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    1383

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    85.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 4 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2021 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    * Looking for someone with excellent horsemanship skills asap due to coronavirus Thank you *
    We are a couple in our 30s, we have 2 dogs, 10 thoroughbred horses, 1 Connemara pony, 10 cows and 2 outdoor cats. We are mostly passionate about horseracing. Therefore, you would learn a lot about thoroughbreds and young horses, so, some experience with horses is a plus but not a necessity.

    We welcome Workawayers to meet new people and enjoy their company. Because we are in a rural setting (bus stop just outside our gate) this would suit someone with a rural or agricultural background best. Ideally, someone who likes and knows about how to interact with animals in general, for example, our cows, cats, dogs and horses. We want you to have an enjoyable experience with us so we will take good care of you and hope you will genuinely want to help us in return too.

    Riding is only available for Workawayers who wish to ride, for fun, if they are excellent riders. I am not a riding instructor and I do not provide insurance with regards to riding.

    Proficient English is preferable. Although I do speak Spanish & French. Please be trustworthy, reliable, friendly and have a good sense of humour.

    Tasks vary depending on the weather and your specific skills. We only ask you to help with activities you are comfortable with and enjoy doing.

    No couples, sorry!

    We would also like to welcome a Japanese speaker willing to help us improve on our Japanese.

    Bowling, Golf club and Pub are within walking distance. There is a Bus stop just outside the farm with services to Dublin airport, Dublin city centre, nearby towns & further.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We speak fluently: English, French and Spanish (our employee also speaks perfect French and some Italian). Accommodation is provided including food. We tend to be very generous with people who have the right enthusiasm and friendly attitude.

  • Help

    Help

    We are a friendly young couple currently renovating our home which is built as a Spanish villa. We have a very big garden, a lot of land, 2 overly friendly big dogs and 10 horses too. We also have a young full-time employee who helps us with the business-side.

    We hope you will feel part of the family and enjoy helping in the ongoing activities.

    Workawayers will never be asked to help with any tasks related to the business and will only be helping in our private home/ garden.

    We'd welcome your help which may include: powerwashing patio/terrace, cooking, organizing/Rearranging rooms, moving furniture around, dog walking, dog/ cat/ horse feeding, taking old tiles off walls, log splitting, making fire in stoves, tidying the kitchen after meals etc.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    French: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Double rooms and twin rooms available.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We live in the heart of horse racing. You can have access to plenty of enjoyable race days. The Curragh, Naas and Punchestown are very near, so is the historic Irish National Stud. Dublin is only 40 mins away.
    We encourage Workaways to do their own activities on weekends.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (4.9)

Communication: (5.0)























Host ref number: 176947769675