Help us with our 1889 historic home in Portland, Oregon, USA


United States

Favourited 414 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 6 days

  • Badges

    Top Host

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

  • Description


    Our household includes: our family of three plus a dog (half Aussie/half blue heeler rescue), a cat (Maine coon rescue), 6 chickens and a big vegetable garden. We've rescued our 1889 house from the derelict building list and now live in a comfortable but not quite finished home…and it is a lot to maintain. There is lots to be done still and depending on the length of time you are here and your skill set, we'll try to find something that you can enjoy or feel a sense of contribution doing.

    We love supporting people in their travels and transitions and are NOT a long-term housing/living situation. We have hosted 45+ people the last 4 1/2 years with 3-4 repeats now. We have had a great time getting to know people from all over the world while doing work on our home and it has been an amazing experience for our family!

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    General Maintenance
    Help with Eco Projects
    Help around the house
    Animal Care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We had college exchange students from Korea, Japan, and Finland for about 3 years and really enjoyed it. We started doing Hosting the Summer of 2015 and have had an amazing experience meeting people from different backgrounds, cultures, and life experiences. We also enjoy the outdoors, sustainable food, architecture, and working together to get something exciting done!

  • Help


    We are currently building a sunken garden with earth bag walls. See pics in profile.

    We would enjoy help with painting the exterior on the back of our home starting summer 2020. We've removed all lead paint sealed the first coat with primer and are transitioning to LEAD FREE latex on the exterior. Painting experience is a plus, but we also would consider someone with a steady hand, attention to detail, and an eagerness to learn.
    Projects Include:
    earth bag sunken garden with garden wall--in progress since fall 2019 and ongoing.
    masonry--a chimney to re-do so would love having someone with masonry and cement work experience.
    plumbing--an irrigation system for the yard/perimeter--we have back flow value in! Also a couple of interior valves that need to be replaced.

    We have really enjoyed people come with various skill sets so let us know what your expertise is or what you love to do and we'll go from there. Given the size of the house, there is always something that needs done be it cleaning up after a meal, emptying the dish drain and dishwasher, vacuuming the house or mopping the kitchen floor, leaf raking, planting or gardening…you get the idea.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation


    We will provide you with 3 meals a day. Meals are full farm--dairy and dairy alternatives (two of us don't do cow), eggs, some meat, and lots of veggies and a variety of grains. If you are vegan or gluten-free, this is NOT the home for you but we can accommodate lacto-ovo vegetarian usually by putting meat on the side. You will stay in a comfortable space--large walk in closet, bedroom with a queen bed with an enclosed porch with a desk/table and daybed for relaxing. This could accommodate a couple or a lucky single! Our dog is a rescue and is NOT baby or kid friendly so we do NOT host families. The bathroom is shared and you are responsible for a thorough weekly cleaning as well as vacuuming your room and changing/washing the towels and sheets weekly. We prefer a quiet house on school nights from 9:30 p.m.- 6:30 a.m. during the school year but are up later on the weekends and the summer.

    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️We are a VAPE-FREE, SMOKE-FREE and DRUG-FREE property...with the exceptions of coffee/tea and chocolate! Two people in the house have asthma, so if you smoke/vape/chew tobacco or weed, this is NOT the place for you.
    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️NO pets or young children please.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We live in a historic neighborhood on bus lines and close to bike rentals near the Alberta Arts district as well as Missississippi and North Williams Avenues. There is lots to see and enjoy from hiking, biking, swimming, and day trips to the Gorge and the ocean and more!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    We have a fiberoptic line into the house and have excellent wifi connectivity.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    Street parking is all we have to offer which is safe and fairly quiet.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    4-5 hours for 5 days-->we are flexible in how you do it

The amazing Joe and Ben duo prepping the Pit with Kent
progress on the sunken Pit
prepping salsa to ferment with help from Jamie!
The bedroom that Jerome and Rachel painted!
The picture that Maria painted....
Summer in Portland =fish from the river and squash and peppers from the garden!
The Ommmm Room color--molding, touch up and we are done!! Thanks to Nate and Christine…and an amazing husband!
Pumpkin Spice and a finished attic space compliments of Christine, Nate, Marion, Tara & Michael Thank you!
The walls and trim that Donna painted!
This is where we live….freshly painted columns and balasters/railing thanks to LeiChandra, Wagner, David, & Brian. And thanks to Jerome and Rachel for 22 newly painted columns!

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.5)

Communication: (4.5)

Host ref number: 176247177669