Help with different projects such as DIY, construction and repairs, gardening and English conversation outside Plestin-les-Grèves, France

Country

France

Favourited 107 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    26/03/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: 1 week or less

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Guillaume and I (Cécile) run a gîte and a painting-school, just outside Plestin-les-Grèves (1.5 miles) on the north Britanny coast. Our large 19th century villa is literally located by the sea-side in a big wooded park that used to be a summer-camp. It is a magnificent place for sea-lovers and hikers, bikers and horseback riders (along the coast or in the Hinterland).
    Plestin is about 20 minutes from Lannion and Morlaix, two picturesque lively towns, and 50 minutes from Roscoff a very pretty port with ferries to and from England, Ireland and Spain. This is a place that is very quiet and peaceful,if you like the nightclubs maybe this is not the place for you

    Guillaume and I have children who live in Paris and Britanny and who come and visit us regularly. We are both painters. Our studio is in one wing of the house. Courses have different formats: Guillaume teaches classes all along the school year but there are also one-week sessions during spring and summer.
    I take care of the gite

    Hobbies
    Guillaume plays the guitar as well as the piano and the cello
    I love cooking, gardening and sowing and I would be more than willing to share what I know. Should you be interested, I would be delighted to show you round Britanny. Thankyou for looking. Bon voyage.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Help in the house
    Language practice
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We speak very good French. As painters, we are very interested in arts, in talking about arts. We would love to show you round Britanny (beautiful landscapes, art galleries, etc.)
    As gourmets, we like to cook for us and our friends. And we look forward to discovering new cuisines.
    We love gardening and are pretty knowledgeable (we love to visit gardens).
    I (Cécile) is keen on sowing and I would be more than willing to share and sow with anyone proficient or willing to learn.

  • Help

    Help

    Helping in the house, gardening, helping with computers and with the communication of the gîte and painting-school.
    Knowledge of masonry (rehabilitation of of stone walls) would be much appreciated + DIY (fixing things round the house) and conversations to improve our English…
    We are looking for someone who is self-motivated, considerate and hard-working. We do consider that it is an exchange going two ways. Like in any family, we will help you but we expect you to help us too!
    Schedules : 5 half-days a week seems to be a fair deal.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    French and college English (lack of practice)

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    A bedroom with twin beds and private shower and toilets.
    We offer room and board (i.e. breakfast, lunch and dinner), but other arrangements could be found if need be.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    1. If you are interested in sport, there are many opportunities round our place (swimming, hike-surfing, boating,, surfing, etc. Horse-back riding, hiking and biking are also very popular round here. The sailing school is 15 mn via the beach.

    Z. Lannion and Morlaix (20mn away) : two towns where there are things to do (cinemas, theatres, various clubs)
    3. In Plestin itself (1.5 miles) a good cinema, a big supermarket, a market on Sundays, various associations (dance, etc.)
    4. Paris 4/4.30 hours away by train.
    5. A big catholic parish

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4 hours a day, 5 days a week

Jardinage
Le jardin en 2012
Cécile et Fliquette
La maison devant la mer
Guillaume et Cécile


Host ref number: 175688313474