Help around our family farm with garden and horses in Kirchberg an der Pielach, Austria

Country

Austria

Favourited 69 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    14/07/2021

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello, my name is Hannah and I’m living with my dad on a 70 hectare farm in beautiful Lower Austria. We have a lot of sheep on our farm, as well as some horses, dogs, cats, chicken and goats. We are currently looking for some help with the garden and around the house and I could also need a helping hand with my horses. But we are not looking for help with our sheep business.
    I did workaway myself and plan to work as a volunteer in the future as well, so I know how a good host should be like. We’re interested in the cultural exchange, so maybe you could cook some traditional food of your country once? I’m also happy to take you to with me when I meet friends, do excursions,.. but at this point I have to say that because of the current Covid-19 crisis we have very few interactions with others and the leisure facilities like cinemas, bars and so on are closed.
    A little more information about us: I’m 20 years and between my trips to other countries I work at our farm. My dad is a software developer, so he spends most of the day working at home office. That means that I do a lot of the work at the stable on my own and just do the essential things each day (feeding, mucking out). So there are a lot of little things I would need help with, like gardening, painting poles for the riding arena, fixing some little things at the farm to make it shine again. At the moment we have 4 horses and 2 Ponys and I would appreciate someone with riding skills to help me with training the horses. This means mostly lunging and not so much riding as some of the horses are already retired. But we also take people without experience with horses and there would also be the possibility to learn about it. In general I would say there’s a job for everyone.
    We take people for at least two weeks and if everything goes fine also longer.
    We are situated in a quiet area near Kirchberg an der Pielach, which is about an hour away from St.Pölten and the next train station is a 10-minute walk away.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Farmstay help
    Help around the house
    Animal Care

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are living in a nice area with a lot of hiking and bike trails. You can borrow a bike at any time and with the bike you will get to the village in about 15 minutes. With the train you can also easily reach Mariazell which is a nice place to visit.
    It would be nice if you could get a part of the family and also join us at our free time activities, which unfortunately are limited because of Covid-19, so mostly I go hiking or riding the bike when the weather is nice.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    The day starts with feeding the horses and mucking out the stable (takes about 2 hours). After that, we have breakfast together and plan what work we’re going to do on that day. It’s expected to work till lunchtime where the horses get feed again, so you won't help more than 5 hours a day. The schedule can vary depending on the weather.

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will be accommodated in the house in your room with a toilet. Bathroom and kitchen are shared. We normally eat together, but of course you can take food at any time.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week



Host ref number: 174194781843