1 / 4

Join our well-travelled family and help with weeding and painting in New Plymouth, New Zealand

Availability

  2024 

 Min stay requested: 1 week or less

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    Hi Travellers
    We are a family of four who live on a farm in Taranaki. We are a well travelled family who enjoy the outdoors. Mount Taranaki is only 30mins away and I have a lot of experience and knowledge if you want to do some hiking.
    We have hosted many travelling people that we have meet through surfing and hiking over the years, we still keep in contact with many.
    On our land we have planted several thousand trees over the last few years so some help with weeding is what we need most.
    There is some painting and other projects to be done around the property but we are pretty flexible so will find you work to suit your skills.
    We are 15 minutes drive from New Plymouth, so our location will really only suit people with transport.
    Accommodation is a 1 bedroom self contained unit that is very comfortable, and would suit a couple, or two or three friends travelling together.
    We have two girls 17 and 15 who are very busy with adventure racing, Dancing, singing and other activities.
    We both work from home and keep very busy.
    Look forward to meeting you.
    Nev and Maryanne.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
    Help with Computers/ Internet
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We have loved inviting people up to our home if time allows and the fit is right.
    We love to cook for others and also experiencing food from other cultures.
    We enjoy family meals together most nights.
    We have a pool table in our outdoor area and having a beer or glass of wine at the end of the day can often happen.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    Weeding around the native trees that we have planted.

    Painting around our house if weather and skills are as needed.

    Waterblasting any number of buildings around the property.

    Spraying weeds around the property, we graze a few sheep and cows and have planted several acres in to trees.

    General cleaning, windows etc around our house and other buildings.

    We will never make you do a task you hate or that we would not do ourselves.

    We have two other houses on the property that parents live in so sometimes we get cleaning projects done for them, as it is hard to keep everything cleaned and maintained ourselves.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Maori: Beginner

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    The little one bedroom unit is fantastic, comfortable and clean.
    It is great for people to stay in as you will have your own space, bedroom, shower, toilet, laundry and kitchen.
    You can be totally self sufficient and can join in with our family as appropriate.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    New Plymouth is a small vibrant town with fantastic walkways, museum, beaches, surfing and hiking. The mountain bike park is fun, or riding 12km along the coastal walkway is always a highlight for visitors and something that we often do.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    I have an office attached to the accomodation with internet etc.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    Heaps of safe parking on site

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours per day, so a couple would be 2.5 hours per day. Totally flexible on how this looks. To be agreed on at the start of each week depending on food etc.

Host ref number: 173492732864

Feedback (4)



Photos

Feedback

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.8)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)






Join us! we would love a hand feeding animals, gardening, farm tasks and weed control in Te Awamutu, New Zealand
Maori culture and simple sustainable living on our off-grid, permaculture farm in Turangi, New Zealand