Come and help us at our little oasis in rural Granada, Spain

Country

Spain

Favourited 16 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    21/06/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

 
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a Dutch-Spanish couple living with our two teenage kids, three dogs and a cat in a lovely little village in rural Granada, Niguelas. We lived in Rotterdam in the Netherlands for most our lives and recently moved to Spain.
    In Holland Dan used to work as a contractor and Paula as a manager of a small dental practice.
    Since moving to Spain we have mostly been bussy with online work and the general maintenance of our new home, but are always looking for new oportunities.
    Niguelas is a small village, but has a lot to offer. It sits on the edge of Sierra Nevada and lies right on the popular hiking trail GR7. The village has some bars and (super)markets, but no other stores and limited public transport. You can reach either Granada or the beach in 25 minutes.
    Our home lies on the edge of the village and has extaordinary views of the mountains and the starry nights. We have a big garden with some trees (olive, walnut, granades etc) and a swimmingpool. Your pet(s) are welcome to come and stay with us and our pets as well.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Help around the house
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Living on the countryside is a really interesting experience, especially if you are from a big city like we are or are contemplating a more permanent move to the countryside or Spain in general. We speak Dutch, Spanish and English, love to have some drinks with free tapas and have talks about almost anything and everything including Spanish culture and way of living.

  • Help

    Help

    We recently bought this big property with a lot of neglected maintenance that really needs to be done. The trees need pruning, a big wall needs to be plastered, some other walls need painting and we could also use some help with the electrical system. We are also thinking about a website we maybe need. There will be times, however, that we have nothing big for you to do and you will have the day(s) to yourself.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    Dutch: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have a separate one bedroom apartment with its own terrace and access to the swimmingpool. If it is not available we have another apartment which is not completely separate of our own, but gives you enough privacy to do your thing.
    If you like you can have the main meal with us at around 15:30 when the kids come home from school. If you prefer to be more on your own we will provide some basics so you can cook your own meals.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We don't travel often to Granada, but of course we will be able to drop you off whenever we do and as long as you don't ask us every day we will drop you off if asked. We travel more often to Motril, so that's great if the beach is what you are looking for. But of course you can also stay around Niguelas and visit the other villages on bike (wich we have for you to use) or car (if you come by car).

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 173451959692