Come and help us with our kiwi farm and big garden in Boiro, Spain

Country

Spain

updated  

Favourited 260 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    6  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    19/10/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    1275

  • Badges

    Super Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a very open minded family looking for a helping hand that loves the nature and agriculture as much as we do :)
    We are Ana and Manolo, and we have 3 daughters. Marta (34) and Bea (36) are now living and working in Barcelona and Ana (24) is studying in Santiago de Compostela. Ana comes home often as she lives close by, and she loves to meet people from other countries so she will show you around :)
    We live in a small village 5 min away by car from the sea. Our village is called Comoxo and the town Boiro. Boiro is famous for its seafood and mussels. There are many beautiful beaches around here, also promenades and viewpoints. Our area is also attractive in summer for vacation, many people all around the world come here in summer time.
    When the sun is shining it is amazing! Everything is blue and green! You will love it :D

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Language practice
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You can learn Spanish from us, as we don't speak any other language than Spanish and Galician. You will also learn a lot about agriculture, we love nature and we've been working in this area for many years. Also, a lot of family members and neighbours ask us for advice and Manuel is very good at graftage!

  • Help

    Help

    WE ARE CURRENTLY IN NEED OF A STRONG YOUNG PERSON FOR KIWI HARVEST! Kiwi season is here, and there will be a weekend when we all (neighbours, family, friends and us) get together to pick all the kiwis for the company ''Kiwi Atlántico''. Ana will also bring her flatmates from Santiago, her flatmates are from Portugal, Morocco, England, Japan and New Caledonia. You'll all have a lot of fun and you will get to live a very local experience!


    We both work in the garden. We have a huuuuge garden with many different kinds of fruits and vegetables, from the most exotic to the most traditional here in Galicia. We grow tomatoes, potatoes, lettuce, lemons, oranges, clementines, leeks, tamarillos, rasberries, strawberries, feijoas, figs, chestnuts, wallnuts, hazelnuts, pomegranates, peaches, pears, apples, cherries, loquats, straberry trees, and many other fruits that you will see when you come here :)
    We also have a kiwi plantation, and your main task would be to help with the pruning.
    Your task would entail pruning, collecting the fruit and grafting.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Spanish, Galician and English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We offer a private room, the bathroom and kitchen will be shared with us.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    With your free time you can do whatever you want. You can visit many places around here, there are a lot of beautiful destinations, for example Fervenza de Cadarnoxo, which is a waterfall that you can reach walking or by bike, Castros de Baroña by the coast and Mirador da Curota, where you get some really nice views of Ría de Arousa estuary. Porto do Son is also a very nice area if you like surfing, you can also do kayak, rowing or any other sport that you would like. Pontevedra and Santiago de Compostela are not far away (40 min by car). And then Coruña and Vigo are a little further but not too distant. You can also use Ana's bike and bike around the cost, it is beautiful!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Meals are an important thing here
Kiwi harvest
Mika from Japan cooked sushi for us
You will learn a lot about kiwis here
At the dovecote with Katja from China
Praia de Boca do Río (Porto do Son)
This is how we make wine in Galicia ;)
Chestnuts!! :D
Collecting grapes and talking with the neighbours, work here never gets bored! :)
The kiwi plantation in the back, huge uh?
Views from our house in Santiago de Compostela






Host ref number: 172316174357