British family with 5 children living in the mountains looking out over the Spanish mediterranean coast



Favourited 952 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    63.6 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 7 days

  • Badges

    Super Host

 Min stay requested: at least a week

  • Description


    We are an English family living in the mountains of Spain about 30 minutes inland from the Costa Blanca Mediterranean coast (midway between Valencia and Alicante). Phil and Jo are just 50, a teacher and musician, and both speak 5 languages (English, Spanish, French, German and Russian). We have five children between the ages of 12 and 22 (three now studying and working in England).

    We live in a solar and wind-powered wooden house at 800 metres altitude, with fantastic views out over the Mediterranean to Ibiza and in the other direction towards ridges of high mountains.

    We have a smallholding, consisting of goats, horses, a donkey, chickens, ducks, rabbits and extensive vegetable garden. We also have cherry and other fruit trees.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Help


    We are looking for individuals or a couple to stay for free in return for help around the house, and with the animals and vegetable patch. There might also be small building projects.

    The main accomodation is a large, comfortable caravan (using the bathroom facilities in the house). There is also a wooden cabin. The type of accomodation available will depend on the number of volunteers and other visitors - you need to be flexible (you can camp in our cherry orchard in the summer months if you prefer). We will always do our best to ensure that you are comfortable.

    We use caravan-style portable toilets and composting toilets - so if you cannot live without a flushing toilet, this is not the place for you!

    After welcoming volunteers for around 5 years, we are experienced hosts and almost always find tasks which our volunteers enjoy doing. There are also daily routine tasks which simply need to be done (we are a household of up to 10 people including volunteers)! Ideally we are looking for people who are either prepared to help with cooking and household tasks, or with animals and other outside chores, or both.

    Both parents are now out at work during the week, and the children (after many years of home education) are all at school. So volunteers will need to be happy to enjoy the beautiful space alone during weekdays, helping in particular by feeding the animals in the late afternoon and preparing evening meals from time to time.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, Spanish, French, German, Russian

  • Accommodation


    Caravan or wooden cabin (optional camping in the cherry orchard in the summer)

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We can also offer language tuition, music therapy and massage, meditation and breathwork, either ourselves or as part of the wider community which we are part of here in the beautiful mountains.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Around five per day, but flexible as to how and when the hours are worked.

Host ref number: 17185784514a