Come and help at small scale permaculture project in Sorsele, Sweden

Country

Sweden

Favourited 61 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    02/06/2020

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Come join us at my fathers farm close to the wild river Vindelälven and the great natural reserve of Vindelfjällen.
    Bernt-Erik, my father is soon to be 81 and has been birdwatching for some 70 years. So if you are in to that or would not mind to learn some, this is a good thing.

    Bernt is waiting for surgery this winter and suffering some bad arthritis, he appreciates a companion for conversations etc and needs help with shopping and the general maintenance of the place.

    I (Erik) am a career dropout who is finding my way back through the greens to water my roots. During the spring I'm usually in the mountains, summers and autumns in the soil at my fathers farm and winters traveling or working.

    My siblings Karin and Jonas is on and off the place and so are some good friends, couchsurfers and random helpers to.

    Our Cause is to find and manifest that balance of a truly regenerative Community and Culture.

    Soil and Soul.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Elderly Companionship
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Farmstay help
    Help around the house
    Language practice
    Art Projects
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Being the right fit for us you will enter an open space of potential which grow as you move through it. We also share our mostly vegan kitchen, skills in finding and preparing the wild treasures of the region and if you like to head out in the wild for some time we have good knowledge and insight of Swedish Lapland and the Norwegian fjords.

    But as mentioned above you will most certainly recognize some new birds and get soil under your nails or sawdust on your feet as well.

  • Help

    Help

    We got alot to do getting a local and regional community going. So if you got skills constructing physical and/or social structures you are going to be great help for us.

    We need help building and maintaining structures, working with the soil, and also the good company of calm and open beings who contribute their gift to the common for the good of all life and beyond.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Italian: Fluent
    Sami: Fluent
    Swedish: Fluent
    German: Intermediate
    Spanish: Intermediate

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Depends on the season, but there is usually shared space for volunteers in the house and sometimes the possibility for a separate room. Ask us for specific details about your stay. Other arrangements with campers and tents etc around the farm is also available.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Head to the mountains, forests or the Norwegian fjords. Usually we go on a longer roundtrip of northern Norway a few times a year. If you are in to fishing you got it world class walking distance from the door.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 169224571432