Help us take care of a beautiful spot in Ariège, France

  • Favourited 289 times
  • Last activity: 7 Mar 2024



 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks



  • Description


    Hi! We are a bunch of people of mixed origins (German and French) living in this beautiful place in the south of France. It is a rather big place, but not a commercial farm. It needs a lot of work for it to stay as beautiful as it is!
    We live rather remote, surrounded by vegetable gardens and orchards that need to be taken care of. We have cats, dogs, horses and hens and we try to live in balance with our natural environment. So, you will meet also frogs, spiders and snails and many more around the house. We are not only fond of nature, animals and outdoors. We also try to keep our footprint as light as possible, reducing plastic and waste to a strict minimum and practicing circular economy whenever possible.
    We are also favoring volunteers who choose to travel in an ecofriendly way (i.e. not hopping around the planet by plane for a two-weeks-stay).
    If this sounds interesting to you, we'd be very happy to host you ;)

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We speak German and French (and English) and we would be happy to help you improve those languages.
    Besides, you can learn a lot about living on a farm: growing vegetables, gardening, making firewood and fences, cooking, making preserves, making apple juice (August - October)...

  • Help


    We are looking for volunteers who could help us with the maintenance of our vegetable gardens and surroundings and doing some woodwork. Sometimes we also need some help in and around the house as well as building and clearing horse-fences. We especially appreciate persons who have already some experience working in- and outside and are good with their hands.
    If you are an experienced rider, you could help us training and riding.
    Now and then we have building projects and quite often maintenance work on the houses like refreshing window shades and similar work... August through October, we are harvesting fruit and prepearing preserves.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Spanish: Intermediate

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation


    If you are travelling with a tent, there is plenty of space where you could set it up. Otherwise we can lend you one. For bad weather days we have possibilities to keep you cosy (this is subject to evolution in pace with construction works... we'll settle this case-by-case).
    We have also a great place for camper vans and can share electricity.

    Depending on skills and desire to do so, our workawayers may take part in the cooking. We encourage volunteers to cook once a typical dish of their country.
    Our meals come almost exclusively from the garden, orchard and neighbour farms including some milk and meat. We are flexitarians. We can adapt to vegetarians, but vegans would need to take care of their own meals. Sorry for that kind of discrimination, but it is just too complicated. Volunteers have their own fridge.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    If you like hiking or other outdoor activities, you can find anything you like at 15 min to 2h ride from our place. We are close to the Pyrenees and they are gorgeous! Please note though that our place is rather remote and public transportation is not coming to us. We have some bikes we can lend and we'd be happy to take you for a hike or a drink/concert!
    Next railway stations : Carbonne, Foix, Toulouse
    Next airport : Toulouse (we try to encourage other means of travelling, though)
    Next bus stop : Massabrac on line 58 from Toulouse' railway station "Matabiau" to St Ybars:

    Also, hitch hiking works very well in Ariège.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    In our place several persons are working online. But this is not a high tech environment and although we are glad to share our phone connections you shouldn't expect real high speed communication.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    We have horses, dogs and cats and are happy to welcome travellers with animals. You are very welcome to come with your own horse. Dogs are welcome in principle but we need to talk about that before.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 167825572239

Feedback (11)


These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.9)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)