Love to welcome one or two people to our 500 year old country house with horses in Sussex, UK


United Kingdom

Favourited 45 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

Contact Register

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

  • Description


    Doug and Sandra live in a 500 year old house in the Sussex countryside. We have a large garden and a paddock in which we keep 2 horses and some chickens and ducks. We are both retired. We have a young dog (Irish setter X poodle) who is VERY friendly.
    We are keen on horse carriage driving. We are members of a charity club that provides carriage driving opportunities for people with a disability.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Charity work

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You could also help our charity work with disabled drivers. Each Thursday Sandra joins other members of the Riding for the Disabled Association group and uses Nutmeg, one of our horses, to give disabled people an opportunity to develop horse carriage driving skills. Some of these drivers reach a high standard and compete at National level while others enjoy a more relaxed activity. If you wish, Sandra would be happy to teach you the basics of horse carriage driving. Doug is chairman of the charity.
    Sandra is an experienced quilter and runs a young quilters club.

  • Help


    We would like help feeding, mucking out, and working with our hoses and chickens (no previous experience needed). We need help in the garden; the vegetable and fruit areas as well as flower beds. There is general work on the field and in the animal housing.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, limited French

  • Accommodation


    Our house was built as a shepherds cottage in 1529. Since then it has been developed, and now has modern heating and plumbing in its 4 bedrooms but still retains its original character. You would have a bedroom with en suit shower and w.c. We look forward to you making yourself at home with us.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We live in the countryside very near Herstmonceux Castle and Observatory. There is a small country village about 20 minutes walk away which has 2 country pubs. We are some way from any other houses. For 'nightlife' you would need to go to Eastbourne, the nearest town, which is half an hours drive away. The City of Brighton is about 1 hour away from Eastbourne by train. It is a busy city popular with tourists.
    We can lend you a bike to help you get around.
    We are hoping to meet one or two people who can stay with us for about one month.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Average 3 to 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 166234124248