Housesitting a geodesic dome in a vegan place in the Algarve, Portugal

  • Portugal
  • Favourited 607 times
  • Last activity: 14 Aug 2023



 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks



  • Description


    I need someone to look after my off-grid home from the end of January through March. I will be going on tour to play music in the United States and need someone to look after my place: water the plants, pull weeds (not too many), and just look after the place in general. I'll need to meet you to show you how everything works in the home.

    You'll need:
    - your own off-grid transportation (the drive isn't impossible but isn't easy either)
    - optional: your own camper might be helpful

    My home:
    - Solar and gas powered hot water for outdoor showers (it's lovely)
    - Wifi (I work online so the speeds are great 80-90% of the day, slows down on weekend and evenings sometimes)
    - Compost toilet
    - Starting a garden
    - Movie projector and screen
    - 2 kitchens (indoor and outdoor)
    - Great south facing view
    - Top notch sound system (but no parties as my closest neighbors have a young child)
    - Water from a well

    Please include the word "applesauce" in your response so I know you've made it this far. Thanks.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Help with Eco Projects
    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    If you want to learn guitar I can give you some lessons with a gorgeous southern facing view :P Great vegan food provided.

  • Help


    In Spring of 2019 I will need help clearing land of flammable and dead plants around the geodesic dome. If things go well there will be plenty of gardening to do as well.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Intermediate
    Portuguese: Intermediate
    Japanese: Beginner
    Chinese (Mandarin): Beginner

  • Accommodation


    Camping: tents and air mattresses - perhaps cots too. Hopefully covered outdoor bedding options soon too :)

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    I am super close to the western and southern coasts of Portugal: surf, stand up paddling, kite surfing, swimming, hiking, climbing. I can drop you off at/pick you up from the beach so not too much need for hitchhiking.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    I'm a programmer so, yes, I have WiFi. I know what it means to work any and everywhere.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 164975693893

Feedback (4)



These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.7)

Cultural exchange: (4.7)

Communication: (5.0)

Help us to look after the garden in Alto Soito, Portugal
Discover life in an Eco village and explore northern Portugal