Come live with our happy, musical, creative family in Galway, Ireland

Country

Ireland

Favourited 264 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    12/06/2022

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    67.6 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 12 days

 
  2022 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello lovely people! We are a family of musicians, academics, airplane, ice cream and caffeine lovers who are fairly unconventional, often happy people. There is Michael, Devon, Matthew (11) and Charlie (5). We live in a large beautiful house outside of Galway City (20 mins and with a bus route which leaves 500 m from our house.

    We are generally very laid back, artistic and friendly people, and we are looking forward to meeting awesome, energetic people who will come and stay, work with us and feel at home.

    We have table tennis, a gym, a sauna and Jacuzzi bath too. We are open to people who smoke or couples. We have a large polytunnel and grow loads of food. We are often singing and playing piano, recording music, walking, running, doing yoga, going for trips into nature etc. Our area is gorgeous and is at the beginning part of Connemara a world famous natural beauty area. We are also very close to Galway city which is an infamous city of culture which is filled with interesting people, arts, music and fun.

    The workaway part! We could use some help with the kids and the house as sometimes life is too busy, and nobody wants to be too busy! Depending on who you are we can negotiate that exactly, but generally hanging out with the boy’s for a couple of hours a day, 5 days a week and helping with the cleaning and laundry. Coming into spring there is plenty of gardening work to do also. Whatever we work out has to be a good situation for you and for us, we are sure that if you’re cool we can find an awesome balance. If you drive we will put you on the insurance on a car and we can share(must be EU permit I think) also in that case you might be able to help with some school pick ups and sports runs, but it’s not a deal breaker if you don’t drive. If you like cooking, then great, so do we. We can all pitch in. In the summer we eat huge amounts of fresh amazing vegetables from the garden. We love playing board games, sports and yoga, and enjoying the finer things of life once the responsibilities of the day have been met. We love having people around and sharing in good vibes. We also need our space and you do too.

    About the boys. The five year old, Charlie, loves airplanes and is a quirky, funny kid. He is quite unique and pretty darn cute. He has completely his own way of looking at things and is clearly crazy, but good crazy. He loves drawing, and will sometimes do so for hours/ Matthew is highly intelligent and chatty and happy, and is everyone’s best friend. A social giant/ He loves to play music, D and D, swimming and water polo, and he loves to chat just like his parents. Our house is new to us (18 months) and we are usually working on upgrading it, painting, varnishing floorboards, etc. You never know what it will be next. But it’s always fun to work on those projects, and again that could be optional work.

    More about our location: There is a 3km loop outside of the house that is quiet with no traffic that is perfect for jogging or walking. Sheep live in the field across the road and it’s quite serene and idilic. We are surrounded by nature and there is a really beautiful forest nearby with a fishing lake nestled in its heart about 4 minutes walking distance from the house.

    We love meeting people from different parts of the world and have travelled and lived in a few countries ourselves. Devon is from Canada, Michael is from Ireland and our first son Matthew was born when we lived in Spain. Devon is a University professor and Michael is a professional Musician.

    You, friends or extra guests are welcome to use it. We don’t mind if you drink or smoke, we are non judgemental or other people’s choices. We do a variety of those things ourselves but are still stable, responsible people (after coffee) and hope you are too!

    The accommodation we can offer you is our little caravan that is nested at the side of the house. It’s really cosy and cute, and give you a bit of space from us, so you have your own little pad. Unfortunately it’s not plumed in for toilet (yet, future project ;) so you’ll need to use the bathroom and toilet in the house. The one you can use and leave your shower stuff in is also in the sauna/súper Mario Nintendo/yoga room 😂😀 so feel free to use all of that too.

    There could also be a spare room in the house if that works better.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    At our house we have a recording studio and people are welcome to learn and record. Devon likes to do upholstery, crafts, building type projects, gardening, writing, art, you name it. If you’re into fitness, yoga and general positive expression that would be great as we love and practice those kinds of things too. Charlie will teach you about the subtle differences between cargo jets and passenger airplanes (spoiler, it’s the lack of windows) and why the Concorde was the fastest passenger airplane (another spoiler, it’s the pointy nose) 😂
    Michael pretty much only cares about music, but he did read a lot of books in pre iphone days so you can chat to him about anything and he’ll probably have something to say about it. Devon is the really smart one, and also the nicest one. We laugh a lot. We play pac man. You’ll just have to come check it out, it would be great to share stories with you! Talk soon!

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    UPDATE FOR March


    We just need general help with the kids and tasks around the home and garden, low pressure:) There are also always new projects springing up so depending on what skills you have we will find things for you to do. 4 hours a day 5 days a week should do it. We will never put you in a position you don’t feel comfortable with and like to make sure we are on the same page as people when we live with them. When we lived in Canada we had a lot of international students live with us so we are quite used to living with people and know how to communicate about any issues and clear them up.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Intermediate

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Our accommodation is a little caravan by the side of the house

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    During your time off you can hang out here at the house, explore Galway city or all of the beautiful nature of Connemara. The world is your oyster and we will support you to do things that you’re interested in. We are a really welcoming family and you can always hang out with us and talk philosophy , music, happiness, life or airplanes at any time :) you can make friends in Galway and invite them for BBQs or parties at our house, no problem. We are relaxed and love new people.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    We have great internet

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    No problem, we have space and an outdoor power hookup, we also have a caravan that you’re welcome to use.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    Yes, dogs, cats, elk, moose, whatever you’ve got! Bring them, we promise not to eat them ;)

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week



Host ref number: 164745276716