Come and help us with taking care of 118 cats in Tinos, Greece

Country

Greece

Favourited 37 times


  • rating

    Host rating

    40
  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    27/09/2020

 
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Arriving on this beautiful greek island land a few years ago I discovered many cats were free breeding on the land. Within the first year (I had no money to neuter) numbers treballed and continued to escalate until I sold my home in uk and brought the colony under control through sterilisation. The colony of now 118 cats are neutered vaccines and mostly friendly. Cats are cages at night to reduce roaming assess health and reduce cat fights from external strays. The cages all need cleaning in the day time and cats need health checks grooming meds and occasionally more emergency treatment of fluids and syringe feeding if illness is present.
    I have a two bedroom house divided into our upstairs living quarters and down stairs for the dogs only. You will have your own room but shared bathroom and kitchen . The facilities are basic. Hot water is available. The land is about an acre we are in a rural location 20 minutes walk to town or beach or 5 minutes drive. 10 minutes walk to local shops including supermarket bakery off licence bioorganics.
    I need help with the cats mainly and if you have any diy skills or any cleaning skills that would be a bonus.
    You will need to cook for yourself but are welcome to help yourself to basic supplies bread cheese fruit.present at the house.(mostly we eat out).
    We are vegetarians so please no meat preparation/cooking in the house. Cooked meat products pastrys etc can be purchased in town.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    General Maintenance
    Help around the house
    Animal Care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Travellers could learn about native ecology care for semi feral cats and greek foods. Travellers would be able to go to the beach every day.
    I am a qualified animal behaviourist so i can share my knowledge about cat and dog behaviour and handling skills.
    The land was an old hospital ruins are present in the form of an old well old bake house and part of an old wash house.

  • Help

    Help

    Help is required cleaning cat cages the cages are on pallets on ground so bending or kneeling is required. Help feeding cats and getting everyone in at end of the day.
    Help required grooming long haired cats and basic health checks.
    It would be helpful if you had basic diy skills to help with building sun shades for cages for example.
    General ability to muck in with household chores with anything that needs cleaning.
    Accommodation is very basic. Finances have been in short supply for the house because of the costs of keeping the cats. Cats will be relocated in the UK this year so work would then become more on the house or land itself. Land has over 10 olive trees caper buses pomegranates lemons and almonds please help yourself to any of these.
    Looking forward to meeting you..

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Room within a two bed house divided in to two flats. Shared bathroom and kitchen..
    You will need to provide your own meals..but help yourself to whats in the fridge!

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Bus tour of local villages
    Marble museum
    Ruins
    Beaches
    Bars/cafes /restaurants
    Excellent views for walkers

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 163748854685