Join our family - help in home & with horses in Newmarket, UK

Country

United Kingdom

updated  

Favourited 63 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    19/10/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 4 days

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    NOW LOOKING FOR a HORSEY PERSON!!!
    We are a New Zealand/English family - Mark, Tara and our 12 year old son Tanner. We have 2 dogs, 1 cat and 5 Dressage Competition horses and live on 15 beautiful acres near Newmarket - the 'Home of Racing'. We have 4 acres of Woodland and the rest are fields. Tara runs a pilates studio 2 hours away and is therefore away every week Tuesdays and Wednesdays. The rest of the time she runs her business from home and trains and competes her horses. Mark runs his own business and is often in London. In his spare time he loves working on the property and playing golf. Tanner is mad about football, rugby, skiing and cricket. He learns basic Spanish and advanced beginner French at school so any help with those languages is appreciated!

    If you want to visit the UK and experience English culture and what it is like to live in the countryside contact us. We always need help in the house, the stables and with the horses (but only if you are experienced as these are big powerful animals). We love welcoming people into our family and will do all we can to make your time with us enjoyable and will treat you like one of the family.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Teaching

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Whilst we have no reviews on this site we have been using another site for three years and our photos show what many of our visitors have done in their time with us. We are very experienced with non-english speaking visitors and have heard them say that it takes a month to get to used to hearing and speaking english everyday. The first month is mentally tiring but by the second our visitors are feeling more comfortable with speaking. Tara is very happy to help with english study and explanations but it is up to our visitors to put the effort in!

    In addition to improved language skills our horsey visitors have the opportunity to see what life is like in a professional dressage yard. However all animals can be unpredictable and these are big and some are young. If you do not have prior experience you will not be involved with the horses although you would be very welcome in the barn and may be asked to do some tasks there.

    Those that love to be outside will really love it here. The property is very beautiful with many trees and much wildlife, including deer. When not helping our visitors have the opportunity to relax in gorgeous surroundings and we do all that we can to make your time with us special. We have table tennis, a pool table, lovely walks from the house (our dogs will love you to take them with you), fitness machines if you like to keep fit, bikes to go riding.

  • Help

    Help

    AU PAIR/HORSE HELP - MUST BE EXPERIENCED WITH HORSES
    We need someone to help us with the horses, house & property - perfect for young horsey person with experience with BIG horses. It's very similar to being an Au Pair with some horse help. We like people to come for two months minimum.

    Help in the house will involve some cleaning, playing board games with Tanner/the family, walking the dogs, unpacking food shopping, helping Tanner with his homework, sometimes cooking dinner, some ironing, working in the vegetable garden, looking after the chickens etc.

    Help with the horses will involve the following:
    Friday, Saturday & Sunday evenings - 'Lates' at 8.30pm, skipping out, haying, checking rugs
    Saturday afternoons - bringing horses in from the fields, feeding, changing rugs etc
    Sunday - taking horses to their fields, mucking out the stables, making feeds, making haynets, sweeping the stables. Bringing the horses in at the end of the day, putting them to bed.
    Competition Days - doing any of the above while we are away
    Riding - if you are a competent rider you will be able to go out hacking
    Competitons - we will take you to some to see what they are like in England

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, German

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Own bedroom in family house, shared bathroom. All bedding and towels provided. Meals with the family and we provide all food. We do like our visitors to cook something from their homeland and leave us with a recipe! We eat quite healthily and it is a mixture of English and fusion food. Lots of BBQs in summer, a weekly roast dinner on Sundays. Vegetarians are welcome.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are very close to Cambridge, the horse-racing town of Newmarket, the cathedral town of Ely and the market town of Bury St Edmunds and just over 1 hour by train to London. There is lots to see and do near us and we will drop you off either at the town, or at the bus or train to get there. Kennett is our nearest train station and there are stations also at Newmarke and Ely. Standsted is the closest airport 45 minutes away and we will be very happy to pick you up from there. We love to have fun so come and join us for a unique home-stay experience. We will do our best to make your time with us enjoyable and successful for you.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 163516634912