Enjoy the mountains of Sierra Nevada in Granada, in a delightful village, South of Spain

Country

Spain

Favourited 127 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    8  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    07/08/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    77.8 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Good Host
 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are an artist/musician couple with an 9 year old daughter called Alma and a 2 year old daughter, Elara.
    Carmen is Spanish from the coast of Granada and Tom is Scottish from Edinburgh.
    16 years ago we bought a ruined village house with some land in the mountains of the Sierra Nevada in the province of Granada, Andalucia.

    We have worked hard restoring the house every winter, whilst travelling and working on our music and art in the summers.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    The Village itself is a cultural experience, full of fantastic characters and eccentrics and a good community feel.
    We Speak Spanish on the whole when we are there, but are also fluent in English, so we can help with anyone wanting to improve their Spanish or English.
    Also you will be in the company of a musician and an artist, so we can share skills and encouragement in these fields.

  • Help

    Help

    PLEASE note that we really need people with some experience, and will not be able to host people without any.

    What we really need help with primordially is cooking, cleaning, babysitting; basically help with household chores please. What we describe as a "House Fairy".
    We have had some wonderful support of this kind in the past, so we send out a wish to the universe to bring us the right persons to support our family life, so that we can concentrate in the following two projects:
    We are putting some of our labours to a charming piece of land that has not been touched for 30 years. Restoration of this involves clearing of undergrowth, rebuilding of drystone walls that support the terraced fields, restoration of ancient irrigation systems and water storage tanks, planting of trees and construction of a roofed and floored outdoor space for yoga/art/music workshops. We will get done as much as we can before August and continue next year.
    The second project is to repair the wear and tear of our house as we rent it in the hotter months and every year we need to do a lot of repainting, nourishing wood etc...to keep it looking wonderful.


    We are happy to have more than 1 person, to share the house fairy work, so that there’s free time to come to the land or the other projects with us if that kind of work interest you too.
    We were initially only asking for help with building and permaculture gardening, but have discovered in the last 25 months that looking after 2 daughters, our business and our household is all-consuming, and we have no time to engage in anything else , including creative work, outside of the home tasks, so what we are asking for at least 1 workawayer to be our support in the home, which will free us to engage ourselves in the projects described above.

    Both of us are bi-lingual (English/Spanish) and happy to facilitate language exchange. We offer food and lodging in return for 5 hrs work per day 5 days per week.


    There's a great community in the village, you will be welcomed and will meet lots of people. though you can also find plenty of space for walks, meditation, splashing in the streams or reading under olive trees!

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have 2 spare double rooms and 1 twin room to accommodate guests, with private loo and private shower room. Shared use of kitchen, Terraces, living room and heated indoor pool and Steam room.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There’s usually yoga twice a week in the village, and flamenco classes once a week ( attended by men too).
    And please look in the activities page of our website.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hrs per day, 2 days free.

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)






Host ref number: 163321286553