Building a Pergola & Painting in Galway City, Ireland

Country

Ireland

Favourited 296 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    4  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    17/10/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    53.9 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 15 days

  • Badges

 
  2021 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a musical and artistic family in Galway city/Salthill.

    What you get from this experience is just as important to us as what we get from it. We'd prefer non-smokers. (Or you can smoke in the garden). Please read my profile CAREFULLY before writing to us! Thanks! :-) Please write “Gaeilge agus Fáilte” at the top of your message so I know you’ve read the whole profile.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We speak Irish and play music. We can teach you about these. We'll show you around. We love independent people who take decisions and are open to reciprocal sharing of constructive criticism. I like to "call a spade a spade". No beating about the bush in this household! :-)

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    UPDATED JULY 18TH 2021
    I have a few projects where I could use someone's help for 2-5 days. I AM INUNDATED WITH REQUESTS ❤️❤️ so please tell me why YOU are the one to help me get the job done - ie any of these:
    1) Building a pergola - ask us for links/photos

    2) whitewashing the outside of part of my house (no dangerous climbing)

    3) painting the wooden interiour room

    Go raibh maith agat. Merci! Thank you!

    Updated May 2021
    We are mostly in need of help with gardening (weeding/pruning) and DIY at present. Audiovisual skills a bonus. Cooking and cleaning goes without saying too. We don't need babysitting help.
    ——————

    We would like some help with garden work (small garden). Also some carpentry/DIY (I'm desiging a garden pergola-type thing/and also doing an garden art project with stencilling on cement paving and on concrete walls.)

    I have a live music/radio project where I could use the video-skills of a camera-person/sound/editing etc.) So if you have those, I think we could have some fun.

    We are within 30 minutes walking distance of a lovely beach/the sea-side. And within 15mins walk of a magical little woods.

    We are a lot of fun and like to go walking/hiking around Galway and Connemara.

    Please write “fís agus fuaim” at the bottom of your message.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Irish: Fluent
    Spanish: Intermediate
    Polish: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    I love Slavic and Romance languages.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have 2 small bedrooms available and you will share a bathroom with 1 other person. You might have a double room with your own private shower/WC. The house is in a very quiet residential area away from traffic. There is nothing to hear in the morning but the sound of the birds. We have a small back garden. The house is a 5-minute walk from a bus stop for a bus into the city. Last bus is at around 11pm (I think). Taxis to the house from the city centre costs around €12. The bus costs €2.30. Bicycle is best! And I have a car so you can travel with me on food-shopping or such trips.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The only criteria is that you are reliable, serious about your tasks and this two-way exchange, and serious about having fun at the same time.

    We often host guests from around the world and have references on other platforms from over 100 people who have stayed with us and loved it. We love sharing our music & culture, and you will have a wonderful time here in Galway with us.

    There are two community gardens close by where you can volunteer and share in organic produce with a lovely bunch of people from around the world.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    There's space for a transit van type thing, or a bit bigger but not huge.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    Maybe.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Max 5 hours per day Mon-Fri. (flexible times)





Host ref number: 162768611922