English practice and cultural exchange with our family in Valle Azul, Costa Rica


Costa Rica

Favourited 124 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    51.1 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 9 days

  • Description


    We want a person who wants to learn oral written Spanish and at the same time help us learn conversational English, we would provide accommodation, we live in Valle Azul de San Ramon, Costa Rica, it is a beautiful and rural tourist place where there is a lot of tourism and there are many species of trees and animals, surrounded by rivers and streams, surrounded by a lot of flora and fauna we are made up of a family nucleus of 2 people, my mother is 40 years old and my person, and I a young woman of 20 years, a student of business administration at the remote state university of Costa Rica, I have been studying there for about a year and a half, in 2020 I graduated after 3 years of studying for Executive Secretary and I obtained a degree in that profession, I do not speak English however I understand when they speak to me a little, and it has cost me a little to learn English, which in my country it is essential to know to work as a secretary in tourism or in any other job, so I decided to join workaway to practice the language exchange, and learn more about other cultures, we can communicate to agree, in the activities of the day we are mainly interested in receiving 2 lessons a day with a duration of 2 hours, we are a Very understandable and honest family, Costa Rica is a beautiful place, its culture is middle class, the people who live here do not have the same comforts as in other more developed countries like the United States, however we offer the best we can and the room It is modest but very safe, any questions you have do not hesitate to ask. Tourist attractions in the area Rivers in the area San Lorenzo hydroelectric dam 10km La Esperanza river 5km Caves in the reserve 2km Chollin hot springs river 40km Arenal volcano 40km Fortuna 40km Celeste river 60km La Gata hydroelectric dam 15km Where we live there are many species of animals.

    Deceamos una persona la cual tenga deceos de aprender español oral escrito y a la vez que nos colabore a aprender ingles conversacional, le brindariamos hospedaje, Vivimos en Valle Azul de San Ramon de Costa Rica, es un lugar turistico hermoso y rural donde existe mucho el turismo y hay muchas especies de arboles y animales, rodeados por rios y quebradas, rodeados por muchisima flora y fauna estamos compuestos por un nucleo familiar de 2 personas, mi madre tiene 40 años y mi persona, y yo una mujer joven de 20 años, estudiante de administracion de empresas en la universidad estatal a distancia de Costa Rica, llevo aproximadamete año y medio estudiando alli, en el 2020 me gradue despues de 3 años de estudiar para Secretaria Ejecutiva y obtuve un titulo en esa profesion, no se hablar ingles sin embargo entiendo cuando me hablan un poco, y me a costado un poco aprender idioma ingles que en mi pais es indispensable saber para trabajar como secretaria en turismo o en cualquier otro trabajo, por lo que decidi unirme a workaway para practicar el intercambio de idioma, y aprender mas sobre otras culturas, podemos comunicarnos para ponernos de acuerdo, somos una familia muy comprensible y honesta, Costa Rica es un lugar hermoso, su cultura es de clase media, las personas que vivimos aqui no tenemos las mismas comodidades que en otros paises mas desarrollados como Estados Unidos, sin embargo ofrecemos lo mejor que podemos y la habitacion es modesta pero muy segura, cualquier duda que tengan no duden en preguntar.
    Lugares turisticos de la zona
    Rios de la zona
    Represa hidroelectrica San Lorenzo 10km
    Rio La esperanza 5km
    Cuevas en La reserva 2km
    Rio de aguas "termales Chollin" 40km
    Volcan arenal 40km
    Fortuna 40km
    Rio celeste 60km
    Represa hidroelectrica la Gata 15km
    Donde vivimos hay muchas especies de animales.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Learn about species of animals, trees, learn the Spanish language orally and in writing, have contact with different animal species in the area, preparation of typical foods, learning about goat species, and chickens of various species, we have wild spaces in the property where we have different tourist activities, we can do sport fishing and take tourist walks to different rivers in the area, we can take walks and paceos where we know the different attractions of the area and we can learn together.

  • Help


    We want a person who wants to learn oral written Spanish and at the same time help us learn conversational English.
    Geographic location
    Costa Rica; territory of 51 100km2, located at 10 degrees north latitude, within the tropical zone, the second most southerly country in the Central American region, a country made up of two oceanic slopes: the Caribbean Sea on the northeast slope, and the Pacific Ocean on the southwest slope. With a climate determined by two seasons: the dry (december-may) and the rainy (June to November) approximately.

    Alajuela is the largest of the northern provinces, and within this is the Arenal volcano, the artificial lake Arenal, and an extensive network of volcanic hot springs.
    Valle Azul de San Ramon has a very special location in the north of Costa Rica.
    We are located in Valle Azul, San Lorenzo District, in the Canton of San Ramon, in the province of Alajuela.
    A town is very quiet, rural, there are abundant bodies of water such as rivers, streams and hot springs, hiking is also practiced, being a rural town the economic activity is mostly agricultural, there are small family businesses such as bakeries, tamaleras, cheese factory, and crafts, among others.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    Spanish: Fluent
    English: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    Tengo toda mi disposicion para enseñar y practicar el idioma español con alguna persona que tenga idioma ingles, podemos realizar tures y actividades recreativas que nos faciliten la dinamica y el aprendizaje.

  • Accommodation


    Yes, we have a room where the person can stay comfortably at the same time have independence, it will have the basic comforts and everything possible will be provided to make your stay beautiful.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Availability to teach, to learn to carry out different activities, travel to rivers and different paceos, especially to share, we are a very united family and willing to give a beautiful stay, more than learning, we want to establish beautiful family activities.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Máximo 4 horas al día, 5 días a la semana

Host ref number: 162585128733