Busy family needing help at home with meals, helping out with the kiddos, dog walking and light housekeeping in Vancouver, Canada

Country

Canada

Favourited 79 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    13/06/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    581

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi there! We are a busy family of four that could really use another set of hands around the house- someone who loves and knows how to cook well and you must like animals as we have a gentle great dane who needs 2 walks- one in the morning first thing and another in the afternoon before your shift is over. There might be occasional babysitting but that will be on a case-by-case scenario and only if it works with your schedule. Please don't count on this for income though as it will be once in awhile. If you need to take on work for pay, we have many restaurants nearby that seem to always be looking for dishwashing help, hostessing or waitressing. These jobs work well around the hours you will be working for us.

    Our kids are 11 and 8 so they're in school from 9-3pm. The typical day for you would be starting between 8:30 and 9:30am by taking our dog out for a 30-45 minute walk. When you get back, you'll tidy up the kitchen from the morning and then get to work on meal prep for dinner and/or baking things like banana bread/muffins for us to have on hand for the week- mostly for the kid's lunches and snacks. If there's time left before taking Prim Rose out for her afternoon walk, you would give the main floor of the house a quick tidy including a vacuum and then Prim would go out for her afternoon walk. Sometimes there won't be meal prep so I might ask you to tackle a household chore like reorganizing a closet or something like that. I need someone who is flexible with the work I give them and is comfortable working on their own. My husband and I might be working from home some days but other than that, it will just be you. If you need something more social, this might not be for you, or you can supplement that by getting out and about on your time off and/or finding a second job in the later afternoon/evenings/weekends.

    If this sounds like something that fits your skills, we'd love to hear from you! *️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️Looking for females only.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Babysitting / child care
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We live in one of the most beautiful cities in the world! We live in the centre of Vancouver and you will be minutes from downtown, 15 minutes from the beaches and 45 minutes from ski hills!! Where we are located, you will be completely immersed in Canadian culture.

    Our home is across from the Hillcrest Community Centre (think hockey, ice skating, curling- Canada's most popular sports, and was built for the Vancouver Winter Olympics! For your use, they also have swimming pools, hot tub, saunas, steam room, exercise classes, ice skating rink, a gym, spin classes, other types of classes you can take (art, karate, cooking, sewing, ice skating lessons, etc...) and a cafe.

    There is a Winter Farmers Market just down the street that starts up in November, so you can try all of the local fruits, vegetables, baking and homemade meals from food trucks. We're also close to the Canada Line and lots of bus stops.

    We are blocks away from one of the most happening streets in Vancouver- Main St. It's full of shops, the best restaurants, coffee shops, locally owned boutiques, bakeries, bookstores and lots of Vancouverites walking and riding their bikes everywhere.

    There's so much to do in Vancouver, it's hard to list it all. One of our favourite places to go on the weekends is Granville Island- a must see for any tourist coming to Vancouver. We only live 15 minutes away. We are central to everything and are only 10 minutes from downtown, 2.5 hours from Whistler and an 45 minutes away from the closest ski hill. We are also only 15 minutes away from the world famous beach, Kits Beach. We would love to take you to see some of these sights!

    We have a bike that you could use to get around if needed.

  • Help

    Help

    *️Please note, I would encourage you to look for a job in the afternoons/evenings if it suits you. This is a great way to make new friends and meet new people in the community! We need to have our family time, so after dinner, the main floor is for family only as well as on the weekends. You are of course welcome up to make meals/coffee/tea but beyond that, we need someone who can respect our time as a family.

    I covered most of the details above, so if you have any further questions, feel free to send me a note. Please make sure to check our availability though as we are getting requests for time that is already blocked off on my calendar.

    I am for sure looking for a hard worker who can take some initiative and enjoys helping. I don't need someone who knows everything- I can teach you some things that you don't know or aren't familiar with! :)

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have a private room for you downstairs. There's also a kitchen that you can use for some cooking downstairs that will be all yours (except cooking anything with grease). You could come use our kitchen upstairs though for most things and to eat with our family. It also has a bathroom with a sink and shower. There's also a refrigerator and washer/dryer. We use the fridge to store some extra items but there would be lots of room for your food. You will be free to use the washing machine and dryer free of charge.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    On your time off, there's SO much to do here!! IF you're outdoorsy, there's Grouse Mountain and Mount Seymour, or Whistler for skiing, and hiking. Kits beach is only 15 minutes away, Queen Elizabeth park is nearby for some frisbee golf with your friends. There's shopping blocks away and amazing restaurants all around us. Again, we have a bike you could borrow while you're here. There's also the Canada Line (underground subway) about 20 blocks away that takes you into downtown Vancouver and back and out to the airport. We also have bus stops all around us. We live on a bike street so you can bike all over very easily.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Cross county skiing in Whistler with friends.
Ice skating rink across the street from our house.
The street in front of our house. It’s a bike street which makes it easy to get around Vancouver from our house by bike.
This is us! Jayme and Kenton
A peek at the beautiful community centre right across the street from our house. They have a cafe, library, tons of classes you can sign up for (for a fee), swimming, ice skating and more!
One of the famous beaches 20 minutes from our house. Spanish banks. We play a lot of beach volleyball here in the summer!
Carving pumpkins for Halloween!
The huge swimming facility at the community centre literally right across the street from our house.
Winter Wonderland in the Whistler Village (2.5 hours from Vancouver)
The farmers market down the street from us that runs all winter. Beautiful locally grown food as well as food trucks and freshly baked goods.
Our family in Whistler in front of the Olympic Rings.
The park across the street from our house!
Our Family!
Host ref number: 162439353646