Help at an animal park and get stuck into rural life and sustainability near Pyrenees mountains, France

Country

France

Favourited 1406 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    24  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    25/09/2020

  • Badges

    Top Host
 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Space available on our camel farm immediately for someone who LOVES animals. We need help from Thursday / Friday this week for one week. Help involves feeding, watering and caring for the animals. We're looking for 1 - 2 hours help in the morning, 30 minutes at lunch time, and an hour in the evening. Independent accommodation is available in the cottage next to our house.


    We're slap bang in the middle of Madiran wine country, we're 1 1/2 hours from the Pyrenees mountains and the same from the stonking surf beaches of Hossegor and Biarritz.

    Please note our reply rate is REALLY BAD, because of the amount of applications we get from people who either don't like animals, or want to come for dates we are not advertising. Sorry, but we really cannot reply to you all.


    Please note, we cannot take families, couples or children. As we're an animal park, you REALLY must love animals!

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay help
    Animal Care
    Language practice

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    for someone who LOVES animals,and would like to get stuck in to rural life and sustainability.

    Close to us are the Pyrenees mountains which is great if you like hiking and climbing, or just skiing and sight seeing. We're also not too far from Bayonne and Biarritz, great for surfers and sea lovers. If wine is your thing, we're situated deep in the heart of the Madiran wine region and you are welcome to take one of our bikes to go exploring locally. Further, we have our llamas available which you can take out trekking or to our near by river beach

  • Help

    Help

    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️ OPPORTUNITY AVAILABLE AT OUR ANIMAL PARK *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️

    A very warm welcome awaits in a unique setting in the grounds of what used to be a former monastery but is now an animal park. We live in a 6 bedroomed farm house an hour north of the Pyrenees.

    We've been hosting helpers now for well over 9 years, and are always happy to welcome enthusiastic volunteers to assist us with a number of important and worth while projects.

    We're currently looking for an all round handy person, good with animals, keen to help us prepare the animal park for opening each day, and to support us behind the scenes!

    In return, we offer, great company, good food and wine, a load of laughs and a stay in the cottage attached to our home. Please note, staying with us is a way of life you'll learn heaps, work and socialise with teams of students, and promise you an awesome summer.


    We REALLY can only take you if you enjoy animals as there are lots of them including camels, llamas, alpacas, mini sheep ( and currently lambs) mini goats, mini pigs, cats, ducks, geese, dogs etc...

    We're 1 hour 20 from the ski resorts, 1 hour 30 from Biarritz and the coast, and 2 hours from Toulouse.

    We have enjoyed hosting many helpers over the last 9 years, and they have kindly left great references - so please do check these out first!

    We can teach you about handling and training animals... building fences... organising and growing your own veggie patch!! Permaculture, animal husbandry etc...

    WHY WOULD YOU COME TO US?
    Well, we've now taken in over 100 in the last 4 years, some came for 2 weeks and stayed 6 months, and some came for 2 weeks and came back again, so we think we have the right ingredients to give you a valuable experience here! We consider ourselves fair, honest and welcoming, and we ask the same from our guests. See base of page for our other thoughts on volunteering.

    Typically Helpers live as part of our family, though the bedroom is in our cottage next door, so you'll have privacy too! As part of the family, it is expected that you take an active part in meal time preparations and assist in normal household things like loading the dishwasher! During the summer months helpers sleep in "the loft" which is a fun barn conversion.


    We have a bike available for our guests to ride, We're not superbly remote, but we're a good 5 minutes bike ride from a bar and a local shop, our local village is about 1km away. We're also close to bus routes to major towns such as Tarbes, and nearby Mauborguet

    We're not the "mature people" you'll see on the site - (our current Helper asked us to explain this as he thought he'd be staying with a couple of old people!)

    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️ IMPORTANT*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️
    This note is especially written to young people who are interested in helping. We have had a number of people who sadly have arrived with us having been to other hosts, they've arrived with us last minute and called us in desperation for help - the other hosts have been taking in people for a long time but have never had references left - one of our most recent helpers had to escape the host in the early hours of the morning. Our advice would be please ensure you contact hosts who have references, or who are in public areas. Obviously many hosts are new to Workaway and don't have references, but do please take the time to check them out, ask as many questions as you can think of and it's your right too to ask for references - after all - if you're staying with someone it's good to know you're safe and being treated properly.


    As a precaution, we ask to also see a copy of your passport on arrival, I hope you understand and respect this, it's because our helpers do live as part of the family and we need to ensure ourselves that we have taken every measure to ensure everyones security, including our other helpers.

    If you are unwilling to share your details, we are unwilling to share our home with you, please respect that this is for everyones security. We also ask for details of next of kin - we feel this is important as we have had a person get lost on their way to us for 2 days, and we were able to contact his family so that they could ensure he was OK. In your application, please confirm if you have any allergies and food likes and dislikes, this does not affect anyones application, but does enable me to shop accordingly


    Please feel free to contact our previous guests to ask for a first hand opinion of our facilities and the type of help we ask of our guests, also please too contact any of our previous helpers ( friends) and ask them for a first hand account.

    MOST OF ALL... enjoy your travels ... you only live today once!!

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Accommodation for early September is in the loft, and from late September onwards in the cottage attached to our house.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Variable max 25 hours a week




















Host ref number: 15914195564a