Preparing for winter in the mountains in Yellowstone national park, USA

Country

United States

Favourited 77 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    03/10/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    62.5 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 12 days

  • Badges

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: 1 week or less

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Come experience the season change in one of the most remote and beautiful places in the lower 48. Our family has been building an off-grid cabin in the Beartooth mountains of Montana this summer, and we have a lot of general clean-up to do before things get buried by the snow.

    Fall season in the mountains is magical, but also requires a lot of work as we put up firewood and do a general 'buttoning up" of the property. Tasks include cutting and moving scrap wood to firewood piles, raking up and moving scrap tree branches to burn piles. Moving equipment and tools inside so they are out of the weather. Walking around with garbage bags doing litter detail.

    The length of work availability will depend on how soon the snow pushes us out. We are located at 9,200 feet, and winter hits us a lot sooner than it does down in the valleys. It could hit anytime in the next few weeks.

    If you are in the area please get in touch. We would love to talk to you and discuss things further!

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    General Maintenance
    Help around the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We live in an amazing place on the edge of Yellowstone National Park. Mountain goats, Bighorn Sheep, Moose, Elk, Bison, Black and Grizzly bears are all local characters. We would love to share our amazing corner of the world with you!

  • Help

    Help

    help us with clearing brush, digging ditches, general cleaning, picking up, chopping wood, stacking wood, and some basic help, household help

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    Please contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Helpers will stay in a wall tent with a wood floor and a wood stove, or in the one-room cabin with the family.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Hiking, climbing, mountaineering, mountain biking, and fishing right out the front door.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    We have satellite internet at the cabin.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    The road is very rough, so it would need to be an off-road capable vehicle.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    Dogs okay. We have a lot of wildlife up here.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 158719353748