Relax and help out surrounded by nature near Karlovac, Croatia

  • Favourited 839 times
  • Last activity: 17 May 2024

Availability

  2024 

 Min stay requested: No minimum

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    We are a family of 6 members, our house is situated on a hill in a little village near Karlovac, Croatia.

    There is a beautiful river nearby for swimming few kilometers from our house, seaside is an hour and a half car ride away. Our kids are age 32, 30, 26 and 22. The kids come to visit every once in a while.

    My husband and I have traveled a lot and now we welcome travelers from all around the world to share experiences and make friends.
    We have 1 dog, 2 cats, and chickens so travelers with pets are welcome, if they get along with other animals.

    **In our main home we currently need help with moving the grass with a grass trimmer.**

    We have a second house that has a fully furbished living-room, kitchen and bathroom for the workawayer(s).

    It is Ideal for a couple because it is in a village that only has 2 other people living, very quiet, peaceful and natural place with a huge garden and right next to the forest.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Language practice
    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We would like to show you how you can live and travel with a small amount of money, without hurry and stress. We would teach you how to live in nature, work with animals and gardens, how to make small repairs around the house.

    We are also beekeepers so if you are not afraid of bees we can teach you how to work with bees and get honey. I also make homemade jams and juices and I know much about herbs and medical plants so if you are interested I would also teach you that and more.

    We are religious but very open-minded so if you are too, we can share thoughts and experiences in that field.

  • Help

    Help

    We currently need help with moving the grass using a grass trimmer.

    We expect you to work 4 or max 5 hours a day, never more than 5 days a week.

    In the summer we go to the river a few times a week, sometimes everyday, and you are always welcome to join us for swimming and fun!

  • Languages spoken

    Croatian: Fluent
    German: Intermediate
    English: Intermediate

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You would be accommodated in a bedroom with your own toilet and shower, separated from the main house.

    Usually, our workawayers stay for around two weeks, but feel free to contact us so we can discuss the possibilities.

    We also have a second house with a huge garden, next to the forest, where we are working to renovate slowly.
    Currently in this house there is a fully furbished livingroom, kitchen and bathroom for the workawayer(s).


    Food:
    - We enjoy a lot of seasonal food growing in our gardens (fruits and vegetables, and sometimes a lot of fresh mushrooms from the forest)

    - If you stay in our main house we are happy to share the meals and cook together, we would be happy to taste your recipes, and you are welcome to enjoy what is ready to be eaten from the trees and gardens! :)

    - If you stay at our second house, you could also enjoy the big garden there with its many offerings, and we will make sure you also have all basic food supplies so you could cook for yourselves.

    - Special diets are outside what we can accommodate but of course we have had guests with unique needs (such as vegan or gluten-free), they simply join us to the supermarket to buy whatever they like....

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The city Karlovac is famous for having 4 rivers, we would be happy to show you around. Zagreb is also very close, and so is the Adriatic sea.

    We welcome travellers of all ages and countries, we always welcome guests to our home.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    This host has said they are willing to accept those travelling with a pet.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 156866395997

Feedback (48)



Feedback

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)
































































Wildlife nature experience near the Papuk mountain, Croatia
Help us with cooking and gardening on the sunny island in Croatia