Join a Franglo-British family living in a rural community in Rhône-Alpes, France



Favourited 128 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends


  • Badges

    Good Host
    Facebook verified
  • Description


    We're a Franglo-British family living in North Isere, France. We have two kiddies, a charming girl, 7 and a little boy aged 3. We speak French and English at home and live in a truly multicultural household with many local friends so ideal for practicing language skills.

    We live in a rural community which is very French with local markets, agricultural fairs and in tandem with nature. We have cows in the fields from a local farm and chickens in the garden.

    We are also looking for general help around the house, garden and DIY including:
    - help building an outdoor seating area
    - preparing meals and general household chores
    - gardening and helping with the vegetable patch
    - painting, decorating etc and household maintenance
    - renovating old furniture, painting shutters etc

    In exchange we can help you with your language skills and share aspects of our different cultures as well as help you discover the region (Lyon Grenoble, Chambery, Aix Les Bains, French Alps etc time and weather permitting) or leave you to your own devices if that is what you would prefer. All of these places are accessible by train from our local train station if you would like to explore and we are happy for you to use our home as a base and accumulate working hours for extra days off so you can travel.

    We can take workawayers traveling on their own and couples. Our area is rural so you would be reliant on us, buses, bla bla car etc as well as train stations in order to access local towns etc so you can explore. If you have a bike it's even better! There is no public transport directly accessible from the property itself but there are some really lovely walks. Our area is popular with cyclists and hikers.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Charity work

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are a mixed language household so can help you with your French or English. We love food and can teach you to cook local dishes and also explore the local area.

  • Help


    - help building a new kitchen and outdoor seating area
    - preparing meals and general household chores
    - gardening and helping with the vegetable patch
    - painting, decorating etc and household maintenance
    - helping amuse the children

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent

  • Accommodation


    Comfortable bedroom with ensuite shower-room on the ground floor of our home. We live in an old farmhouse with a large garden with orchard. We will also provide food (however please note that we eat meat and drink wine, we cannot cater for vegetarians sorry as not able to cook extra meals). Our son has severe nut allergies and our daughter is allergic to dairy so our food is mainly all homecooked.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The North Isere is a beautiful area of France not far from the fabulous cities of Lyon, Grenoble and Chambery. It is at the entrance to the French Alps which serve as a backdrop to this beautiful region. It offers a true glimpse into life in rural France and is ideal for cyclists, water sports enthusiasts (we have a number of lakes nearby).Public transport nearby is sparse but we can drop workaways off at nearby train stations if they wish to go off exploring on their own.
    Immersion into French lifestyle and culture is easy here.
    We are easy going but respectful people, keen on food and enjoying life. We aim to teach our children strong values and we also work very hard on our businesses.

    We would prefer non smokers if possible. Absolutely no drugs!

    We have three cats so wouldn't be suitable for people with cat allergies.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 156289817236