Help renovate our sailing yacht, go kayaking and dingy sailing in Holland, The Netherlands

Country

Netherlands

Favourited 1221 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    41  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    07/09/2021

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    380

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    72.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 4 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2022 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hey worldwide boat lovers,

    We are renovating our sailing boat in preparation for crossing the Atlantic and eventually sailing to Alaska.
    Our boat is a Northwind47, build in Barcelona, 36 years ago.

    Carsten has designed new windows and a new dog house (this is the half roof cover over the cockpit) and could do with an extra pair of hands. There are also more areas to work on like the hull, which will get a most beautiful blue colour shortly. Carsten is a German engineer, so if you are seriously interested in learning to renovate/repair things perfectly, he is your man! He is a very good teacher. Equally, he enjoys working with someone who is motivated, is interested in boats and can think for him/herself.

    We do work on the boat in the weekends and Carsten goes down to the boat also most evenings after work. So, depending on the nature of a project, you and us would be able to plan a week in advance. This then would give you clarity on which days you could go sightseeing/walking or kayaking etc.

    Personally I love visiting museums and national parks, swimming and kayaking. Perhaps you'd like to join me sometimes?

    If you would like to join us for a little while with this project and pick up a few new skills on the way, you are super welcome. You will have your own private bedroom in our house. We share meals, take it in turn to cook, and like exchanging stories of our lives. We have a cat called Minoes.

    We are located near Arnhem in The Netherlands, on the edge of a large lake. We kayak, swim and dinghy sail in our spare time. Carsten lives in Holland for work and I (Mieke) visit him as much as possible, but my home is in England. I've welcomed over 80 workawayers since 2009 in my house in England, it has been a tremendously positive experience.

    Drop us a line if you have any questions.

    With kindest regards,

    Mieke & Carsten

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You'd learn:
    1. boat renovation skills
    2. kayaking
    3. dinghy sailing
    4. languages
    5. If you love walking, we are located on the edge of National Park the Hoge Veluwe

  • Help

    Help

    Join in to our boat project as described above.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Dutch: Fluent
    Spanish: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Your own double bedroom.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    From Schiphol (Amsterdam) airport it's only a little over an hour by train to Arnhem, where we can pick you up. By train from Eindhoven airport will take you two hours to Arnhem.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    Internet is very good in the house.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    There is space for a modest size campervan on the drive

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    max 5 hours per day 5 days a week




























Host ref number: 15434568174a