Help with our garden and with some general maintenance at our home in Leinster, Ireland

Country

Ireland

Favourited 436 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    49  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    25/01/2022

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Top Host
 
  • Description

    Description

    The art and science of asking questions is the source of all knowledge. Thomas Berger

    We prefer to host volunteers for 4 weeks minimum stay

    We live 4 miles from mullingar in the centre of Ireland. Easy access by bus and train .

    There is myself and my 12yr old son, plus our dog jazz living here . we are trying to achieve a self-sustaining lifestyle .

    We have a polytunnel, greenhouse , beehives, keep some hens and pigs , have a small woods. Ideally volunteers would be dog lovers and enjoy the outdoors .

    We are focused on self sustainability, negative carbon footprint , conserving energy , reducing waste and a simple life :)

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    improve english speaking skills , learn about gardening , beekeeping(spring, summer , autumn) tree care & self sustainability

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    we would like volunteers to help with light gardening and general maintenance.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Gaelic (Scottish): Intermediate
    German: Beginner
    French: Beginner

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Family home, own room

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Mullingar is a busy small town , good nightlife at the weekends, plenty of live music , nice restaurants etc.

    Dublin is 1 hour travel /galway 2 hours , we are 10 mins from bus and train stations and very central in the country of Ireland

    Lots of ancient historical sites, castles etc in the area also

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    4-5 hours per day depending on the work and the weather , 5 days per week , 2 days per week for tourism , we can help u with ideas !

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)



































Host ref number: 153939474595