You can be part of our learning community and our family in Zapatoca, Colombia

Country

Colombia

updated  

Favourited 23 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    05/05/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    66.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 10 days

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least 1 month

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    My name is Leidy Villamizar. I'm a homeschooler mom and have a 9 year-old boy. I am the co-founder of an alternative educational program, which is a learning community called Safari. My house is a self-build space created for the development of this activity, so we have a garden and some animals (hens, a dog and a cat) as part of our learning process. Actually, I'm working as the director of this program and also as a teacher -virtual and person classes.
    I love traveling and sharing life experiences with other people and learn of them as much as I can. I speak Spanish, English and I'm learning French. I love cooking, I really enjoy hiking in the nature, we as a family enjoy camping and adventures to feed our soul.♥
    We love and respect animals and differences with other people. We are a not religious family, but a respectful with others believings.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Language practice
    Help with Eco Projects
    Teaching
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I can teach you Spanish and you can learn about alternative pedagogy and learning communities in our house. You can also join our family for spending time in the nature, if you love hiking and hanging out in the countryside, then this is the perfect place for you.
    Now, Zapatoca is a little and a beautiful town in the middle of the mountains of Santander. This city with a perfect weather all the year, provides all kinds of landscapes for you to enjoy, it has several caves and waterfalls.

  • Help

    Help

    We are looking for people who want to come and spend some time and experiences with us and the things they can help are such as:
    - Teaching math, Spanish, English, science to school-age children (the ones who come to our house looking for direction with their academic processes in school and some help with their homeworks)
    - Teaching English (or other languages) and guitar to my son and me.
    - Helping with the garden.
    - Creating some art projects (murals, educational content, educational drawings, etc)
    - Helping with social media and web development.
    - Photography support.
    - Cooking
    - etc

    It's not a necessary that the workawayer knows all the things named above, but if you have some of these abilities you can be very helpful for our project and for sure we can make something great by interchanging our life experiences.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    French: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    I want to practice my English and to learn French, German, Italial... What language do you have to teach us?

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    I can provide a room and food. The room is private, however we must keep some of our things is that room, but there will only sleep the workawayers.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    We have some animals at home, so please contact me and let's talk about it, but for sure we can do it!

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week



Host ref number: 151171763733