Come and provide companionship and help with a few chores at my parents home in Idyllwild, California, USA

Country

United States

updated  

Favourited 28 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    20/10/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 3 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I am a busy professional looking for help with my lovely elderly parents (ages 87 and 92) in the beautiful mountain community of Idyllwild, California. They are bright and friendly and will love getting to know and having a bit of support from visitors from around the world, while I am in the city working during the week. I am very excited to share this beautiful area with Workawayers and will deeply appreciate the support. I am happy to host individuals or couples/friends/families traveling together. I look forward to welcoming you!

    Very sincerely,

    Cynthia

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Elderly Companion
    Cooking / shopping

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Idyllwild is a beautiful mountain community centrally located in southern California. We have the famous Pacific Coast Trail running through town and there are events during the through-hiking season for hikers. Workawayers can explore the nature all around through our moderate year-round weather - hike our part of the PCT (we can provide camping gear for overnights) and other trails in town, rock climbing, mountain biking, bird watching, etc. There is an animal sanctuary (Living Free) in Mountain Center and an intake center in Idyllwild. And we are within 1 hour of Palm Springs/Palm Desert, 2-3 hours from San Diego, Orange County, Los Angeles, and you are welcome to take our truck for weekends off to explore all of southern California. You are within reach of endless beaches, amusement parks, and the culture, nightlife, and fantastic restaurants in the cities.

    I hope Workawayers will love connecting with my family. My parents are the sweetest couple you will ever meet, devoted to each other and connected in a really beautiful way. Of course things are shifting and slipping as they get older, but they have engaging intellects and stories from their life and love meeting new people. They have a huge library of books to enjoy.

    My husband also loves meeting new people and has battled through cancer over the last few years so hosting Workawayers will be a wonderful uplift for him. Everyone will welcome you like their own daughters/sons and enjoy your company and sharing the beautiful community with you. My husband will be happy to take you exploring on our electric bicycles and motorcycle when he is home.

    My son comes out from his home in Arizona to help me on home improvement and other projects. He is a brilliant "jack of all trades" and can provide mentorship on this type of work, his trade of locksmithing, and his passion for motorcycles. He is super sweet and friendly and has recently started traveling abroad and will love to share travel stories with you! You will "meet" my daughter right away as she is helping me with this Workaway posting and interviews from her home in Hawaii or travels abroad. She has volunteered around the world and has brilliant tips on how to travel on a budget and find opportunities to help with animals.

    I started my career as a nurse but am now a Healthcare Consultant working with US hospitals. I will be away at work much of the time but I am happy to share stories about my career path(s) and anything related to healthcare administration or clinical nursing.

  • Help

    Help

    I work out of the area during the week and need light help for my parents ages 87 and 92. Generally Workawayers will have weekends off to explore while I'm home and can pick-up the responsibilities. The duties would be a 1-2 hour morning and 1-2 hour evening visit with my parents. Our properties are very close together, within a mile of each other and of Idyllwild town center, so you will be living in my home and making daily visits to my parent's cabin down the road. During these visits I need Workawayers to help them keep groceries stocked for breakfast and lunch, prepare vegan dinners daily, take my mother into town daily to pick up the mail and perhaps errands like getting her hair done, drive them to doctors appointments, light housekeeping including ~ twice weekly laundry. Dinners will generally be for 4 people (including Workawayer) - my parents and my brother who lives with them, and up to 6 when my husband and/or I am able to join you. We are happy to eat out regularly and dinners can be a shared responsibility, but it would be a tremendous help to know that everyone is being fed consistently and healthfully. Large batches can be pre-made for multiple days so the cooking duty can be very light some nights. My mother is the primary cook but she no longer has the energy through dinnertime to prepare for the family. The food can be simple, and I have lots of cookbooks and my daughter is a vegan chef and can share lots of easy recipes. *I am the only vegan in this mix so these are not purely vegan kitchens and my husband and brother may prepare their own meat to include with the dinners.

    My parents will enjoy company and help with chores, no clinical care or anything that requires any special skills. They live independently and do not require this help, it will just enrich and make their daily lives easier and allow me to focus on my work during the week knowing they have some extra house help. My brother lives with them but goes about his own business and unfortunately is not one to help them with the chores! My father is a retired teacher and my mother was a teacher's aid, and I think they are still lovely, bright conversationalists. Do be prepared for them to talk (Liberal) politics aplenty! But they will also share stories of their lives filled with travel (they've traveled all of North America in their RV since they were a young couple), and of their loving life together.

    I can also use a small amount of help around my house, maybe 1 hour per day on light housekeeping, occasional pet sitting of our adorable 16 month old golden-doodle pup (although he usually joins me during the week at work as I am madly in love with him), grocery shopping, and occasional errands including supporting my husband when he is in the area (although mostly just enjoying his company, perhaps taking bike rides or other exploring together), although he may be staying with his children in Nevada. If Workawayers enjoy yard and handyman/construction tasks there is lots to be done to maintain our one acre property. When I have the time and the support I would love to turn the property into a sanctuary/retreat space!

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, my parents speak some Spanish

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Workawayers may have their choice of accommodation either in the guestroom of our home, or our camper in the yard for a private space. We have a spacious modern-rustic three bedroom (plus office), three bath home with all amenities and are in the process of adding an additional workout room. We are on a one acre property full of trees and wildlife passing through. There is a large deck to enjoy the sunshine or the stars at night. The guestroom has a lovely window out to the yard to watch the deer in the mornings, and a newly remodeled full bath. The camper is installed under our tall pine trees, an 11.5 foot AlpineLite self-contained living space with a shower, separate toilet, kitchen with stove, microwave, fridge/freezer, and a coffee maker. All of the beds are high quality and we keep a clean (if not as tidy as I'd always like!) home. Regardless of which accommodation you choose, Workawayers are welcome to share our house (kitchen, tv's, high-speed WiFi, etc.) and property and make themselves fully at home. We are located about one mile from Idyllwild town center, so it is an easy walk or just a few minutes drive to get into town.

    Idyllwild is a very peaceful area and you will likely have our big house to yourself during the week as my husband is relocating part time to be near his kids in Nevada. We have lots of young travelers coming through town hiking the PCT but the town itself is very small. This will be a great fit for people who enjoy the peace of nature and appreciate time on their own.

    Workawayers are welcome to share our food, eat out with us, and will be asked to help grocery shop (allowance provided) to keep my home and my parent's stocked with food, and to prepare vegan dinners during the week.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Workawayers will have full access to our pick-up truck for chores and personal time. We are considering getting a smaller car as my parents are struggling with getting in/out of the trucks now, which would also be better for Workawayers to commute into the cities on weekends.

    Please no smoking and absolutely no drug use or excessive alcohol use on the properties.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 149856635137