Looking for some help around garden in a beautiful part of Herefordshire, UK


United Kingdom

Favourited 43 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Super Host
  • Description


    We live in a small rural hamlet, myself and my husband, two adult kids and my parents, we have 4 dogs, 7 cats 6 of which live in the barn, two donkeys and my daughter has approximately 50 sheep, our bungalow sits in the middle of a woodland, we have a small one bedroom cabin for visitors to stay in. I have multiple sclerosis and it's really good to have help in the garden, walking the dogs, we have always got outside jobs to do and in the spring the ewes are lambing, I normally have the bottle fed lambs in the garden, where they soon become pet lambs, our local town is just over 3 miles away and a bus stop one mile away, its a quiet area with lots of wildlife and very pretty as you go through the seasons, our area would suit someone who likes the outside and animals

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We live in a beautiful part of Herefordshire, with many churches, castles and the historic towns of monmouth and City of Hereford just a bus ride away, we love animals and they are a big part of our lives, so help with their care would be great. Obviously animals are fed twice a day and their care is very important.

  • Help


    I would like help with general jobs in the garden, tidying up outside areas, maybe some fencing, lambing if people would be interested in that, I do have some rendering that needs doing if someone has suitable skills, I have multiple sclerosis and although I cope very well, some jobs outside I find difficult. Just having someone about to help with odd jobs would be great. We have a paddock which always needs a good tidy up, but mostly just having someone willing to help with any outside jobs, animals, fencing, cleaning the pond, washing the paths, bit of weeding. It's advisable to have waterproof boots and coat.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken


  • Accommodation


    We have a one bedroom cabin/twin beds, in the garden, with shower, toilet, lounge, has stereo, TV, small kitchen area, fridge, microwave, toaster, I will provide bedding and towels, washing machine avaliable in house, I would be very happy to have any guests eat evening meals with us as a family, I will provide breakfast, lunch, bread, snacks ect in cabin, obviously tea and coffee, the cabin also has our things in it. If guests wish to purchase extra food other than what is provided then I'm happy for them to do that, I can cater for special diets if required.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We have quite a open household, happy for people to spend time with us indoors, we like to eat at about 7pm for main meal and try to spend time as a family chatting about all sorts of things, as we are very rural and it's a one mile walk to bus stop, we have found people prefer to come out with us when shopping ect rather than doing 4 or 5 hours work a day and then two days off, if guests wish to have two days off, rather than just fitting in with our routine I'm very happy with that but bus service is limited on Saturday and no buses on Sundays, week days buses run hourly until about 7pm. The best airports to use to get to us would be, Bristol Airport, bus to Temple meads train station and then train to Abergavenny, you would possibly need to change trains at Cardiff, or Birmingham Airport, then train to Hereford, from London get national express coach to Chepstow, I can then pick up in car from Abergavenny, Hereford or Chepstow

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Rachel with new born lambs
Rachel our first workaway with jake

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)

Host ref number: 148974488442