We are looking for help gardening, doing firewood, canning etc , Winlaw, British Columbia

Country

Canada

Favourited 10 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    30/03/2019

 
Join now to contact this host
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    My partner Sean and I live with our son on 5 acres in the Kootenays. It's really peaceful here, we are short walk to the river and about 35 minute drive to Nelson. The Kootenays is a really beautiful place to be in the summer time. There are lots of music festivals, lots of wonderful food to eat, and lots of wild adventures in the forest to be had. We are setting up our garden this year, and starting to build our 30x60 ft greenhouse. We are looking for help gardening, doing firewood, canning and preserving food for the winter, re-roofing a couple sheds, building our greenhouse.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Our place would be great for someone who is interested in learning about country living-
    gardening, preserving food, basic carpentry skills. We have a lot of projects we are excited to do around here this summer, and we want to have fun doing them!

  • Help

    Help

    Here is a list of things we would love to have help with:
    Gardening: Planting, weeding, pruning, rototilling, mowing lawn, harvesting, preserving.
    Building: re-roofing 100 year old sheds, building a 30x 60 ft greenhouse, putting up fencing, we would also like to convert one of our sheds in to a sweet cabin!
    House stuff: Chopping firewood, cooking, cleaning, canning, dehydrating.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have a tent trailer with a bed and power/internet. If someone wants to stay in their own tent we are really open to that too. We have an out house but also a normal bathroom in our house for workers.
    We eat most meal communally in our house. I'd love some help cooking the food, but we will provide most of the food to eat.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are pretty chill people. We like visiting, having potlucks, playing music, and being outside. We aren't really into wild parties, so we ask people to keep it mellow. There are lots of fun things to do around here -floating down the river, biking, going to Nelson, hiking. We are close to the Valhalla mountain range. We like people to pitch in with household stuff, like cooking and cleaning, but other than that we are really into working with whatever strengths you have so that you can do something that you like.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 148552694714