Help out on our Horse and Animal Farm / Organic Garden in Chilliwack, B.C., Canada

Country

Canada

updated   Last minute

Favourited 791 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    31  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    19/09/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • paid opportunity

    Host offers payment

     

  • Badges

    Super Host
Contact Register
This listing is a Last minute host. They have let us know that they are looking for help immediately as well as at other times of the year.
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 3 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Due to a last minute cancellation we can take another person right away that can handle some of the heavier-typer work.
    We can always use carpenters & plumbers. We sometimes offer pay for extra hours, especially if we only have 1 or 2 people (& you are an efficient helper), but for qualified carpenters, plumbers or mechanics, we also pay some extra for the basic hours for these trades.
    We can often accept last minute helpers as well.
    Lots of our exotic birds are hatching in the incubator now & we need help with them. Baby goats are due soon as well!
    We raise a lot of different animals (Horses, Cows, Goats, Pigs, Peacocks, Guinea Fowl, regular as well as exotic Chickens, Pheasants, Turkeys, Mandarin Ducks, plus 3 friendly Maremma Livestock Guardian dogs that keep the predators away (1 is a puppy-in-training). In the house we have 2 parrots & 2 very affectionate cats! We also have a good-sized garden, some fruit trees, berries & grapes.
    We need people that can help with animal care, gardening, clean-up, building, fencing, collection & splitting firewood, help in the house & other general help. We also need someone that is knowledgeable with chainsaws or carpentry!
    Anyone coming must have realistic expectations of farm life! For the job with the larger animals, we have found that the work is too heavy for most of the girls (only those that are very fit & have experience with heavy work have been able to do that job efficiently enough).

    We do not send letters of invitation as it requires us sending you copies of our personal identification which we won't do!

    PLEASE READ OUR AD CAREFULLY, AS WE DON'T WANT YOU TO BE UNHAPPY HERE AS IT MAKES US UNHAPPY AS WELL! Life is too short for anyone to be stressed out! Keep in mind, most helpers don't have any references, so we have to rely on your word that you fit our requirements! We have had many people return, so that must be saying something!

    All our animals are kept outside except for the parrots & our 2 friendly cats.  One of the parrots keeps everybody laughing with her comments & does an amazing array of tricks, animal imitations, laughing & also sings.

    The farm is 33.5 acres (13.5 hectares) sitting at the base of a mountain, surrounded by a huge forest on 3 sides (the
    smell of the oxygen is great!) & we have 1300' (396 m) of river frontage. There is also a couple of large ponds & some creeks. There are miles of logging roads & trails through the forest if you love hiking, & it is a VERY popular recreational area for the local people for camping, hiking, dirt biking, mountain biking, ATV’ing (with quads & 4 x 4s), whitewater kayaking, rafting & it’s got world class fishing (right off of our beach)! There is a popular 5 1/2 hour (return) hike to a peak near us that offers spectacular views of Chilliwack as well as the surrounding mountains. We have mountain bikes available for your use, & if you are an experienced horseback rider (& you're kind with them & can saddle them up) you are welcome to ride. If you have sufficient experience, you can take them off the property & onto the trails. The horses are generally quiet & gentle, mostly green broke (but fairly safe).  You may get the opportunity of a horse & buggy ride!
    Our water comes from our own little mountain waterfall! We have a little vineyard, some blueberries & we have a good-sized garden & are planting more fruit trees, berries & veggies.

    We grow our garden organically & also try not to use chemicals, hormones or antibiotics wherever possible with our livestock or poultry. 
    Lunches & dinners are usually prepared for you, & we like healthy good-tasting food, & make some of our foods from scratch, (homemade bread, jams, pesto, etc). The food we produce for ourselves is organic. We do not supply junk foods, juice or soda. When we are really busy, lunches & dinners are often later, but there is always fruit etc. available.

    For both us, our hobbies include; dancing (country & western, latin, swing & ballroom), vintage cars (we have a few), fishing, gardening (flowers, fruit & veggies), cooking (and eating!) & enjoy having pot luck barbecues & barn dances here during the summer & fall, & we love farming! Debbi also loves humour, computers, traveling, shopping, & playing cards,

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will improve your English, & Debbi will help with grammar, & you will likely meet people from other countries as well! You will also learn what it's like to live on a (somewhat remote) working farm with both gardens & animals. If you want to learn more about cooking or gardening, we are happy to share our knowledge with you. Debbi is also happy to teach you some of our card games!

  • Help

    Help

    PLEASE READ BELOW CAREFULLY!!!

    If your parents did everything for you, you are probably not suitable for us!

    We prefer that you are at least 20 (& older is preferred). If you are 19 & have had a job for at least a year or been brought up helping on a farm, then it's not a problem. We usually don't take couples.
    As there is A LOT of work to be done, you MUST be someone that can work independently, has GOOD WORK ETHIC, is MOTIVATED, RELIABLE, EFFICIENT & a self-starter.
    We can only take a few people so those we take must be serious about helping.

    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️ IF YOU TEND TO DO THINGS AT A RELAXED SPEED, A BUSY FARM IS PROBABLY NOT THE PLACE FOR YOU!

    We prefer longer stays unless you are quite experienced already.

    We are doing fencing, building a barn, lots of gardening, planting some trees, splitting & moving wood, clearing out underbrush and of course animal care (more in the winter & spring).  There is also some light housekeeping (for the house & our 3 cabins in the forest). We are hoping to put a turbine on our waterfall to generate some of our own power as well. There are vehicles & machinery (including our classic cars that need some work if you have the skills). We would certainly welcome anyone with bio-dynamic & permaculture knowledge. If you are experienced with Mac computers, that would be a bonus!

    For the animal job, You MUST care about animals, be physically STRONG, EFFICIENT & OBSERVANT! You must be able to handle 50 kg plus wheelbarrows for this job.

    Mechanical help! Obviously you must have some training for this job!

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, Dario speaks French & Italian as well.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    There is a beautiful, large bedroom in the house with an ensuite bathroom, & also a big artist's loft (where the Nintendo 64 (with the best games I'm told!), karaoke machine, a stereo, TV & foosball & pool table is). The bedroom is used in the winter, as the artist's loft is not well enough insulated for the cold. They are usually shared & can be mixed as well. It isn't really suitable for couples. The artist's loft has individual nooks with a light & a heavy curtain for privacy for each bed. We also provide laundry, high speed internet, some DVD's & books, bicycles, badminton, volleyball, a trampoline, water guns, a guitar, some games & of course horses! Obviously, we care about our volunteers & want them to have fun here! If you can play, you are welcome to play our baby grand piano! Bonus points if you like to play cards (& don't mind losing)!
    You are expected to keep your room & bathroom tidy, cleaning up after yourselves & being respectful of our things also.
    You are also welcome to spend some nights in one of the cabins if you like, as long as they aren't booked & you clean them after - they are very popular!

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are located in Chilliwack, B.C., and it's about 1 1/2 hours drive from downtown Vancouver or the nearest ski mountain (Grouse Mountain),  (or 3 hours to Whistler).
    We are 20 minutes by car or 40 minute bike ride to town, 3 kms is down a forest road. There are opportunities to get a ride with us when we go into town.
    We will pick you up when you arrive & drop you off when you leave. Due to the nature of our farm, sometimes you may have to wait at the bus for a bit, but there is a Tim Hortons coffee place with free Wifi right by there and there are also many stores very close by.

    You must be (as we are) honest, dependable, reasonably clean and mentally stable, no (unmedicated) bipolar or anger management issues please! & NO DRUGS, HEAVY DRINKERS OR SMOKERS (inside or outside)!!!  

    A great sense of humour is a definite asset!  We are quiet, considerate, reasonable & very respectful of others privacy & hopefully you are as well! If you like to play cards, that is a bonus (as long as you don't mind losing)!

    We have included a picture of ourselves in our profile (a picture speaks a thousand words they say!) & it tells us a lot about you! If you wish to reply, PLEASE include one of you as well.  
    We don't care if you have dreadlocks, but if you don't wash your hair AT LEAST once a week (with shampoo) it ruins our bedding! (Yes, it already happened!)

    Please let us know in advance if you have any dietary restrictions!  *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️THIS IS NOT A PLACE FOR VEGETARIANS OR PICKY EATERS!*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️   We don't eat a lot of meat, but definitely have it several times a week.  We are cooking for several people & it gets difficult when people are giving us their lists of foods they don't like!
    I shop in the U.S. often, so there are opportunities to go there as well, if desired.

    WE WANT ONLY PEOPLE THAT HAVE HIGH INTEGRITY & ARE VERY RELIABLE! It makes it really difficult for us when we receive cancellations last minute. It is also not fair to the people we turn away who could have come and enjoyed the experience. We take this seriously and we try hard to make the experience good for our visitors.  We know that many people are applying for jobs, which is fine, but we ask that you give us 2 weeks notice, so that we have a chance to replace you.
    We know we can't make everybody happy, but we expect that if you are unhappy here, that you talk to us so we can try together to resolve any issues. We have many different jobs so if you were having difficulty with one, we can often give you a different one.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week





















Host ref number: 14747151524e