Friendly family near London, UK

Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 24 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    05/09/2019

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 3 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are looking for a handyperson/carpenter to work on various building and repair projects.
    We are a family of three/four + 2 dogs (who need lots of walking) and some chickens and ducks.
    We all live in a scenic, very rural area of Surrey next to several farms and stables.
    Our house is a cottage with a big garden. The nearest village is about 2km away. The three of us are: Noel (librarian); Louise (teacher); Jan (21, sometimes at university) and Flavia (18 who likes art and animals).
    Work is needed for about five hours daily.
    In exchange we offer board and lodging, in separate accommodation in the garden. There is Wi-Fi, computers and TV. The locality is brilliant for running, walking, biking and swimming. If you are here longer, we could offer use of a car.
    We have had quite a few helpers and can offer references,
    We currently have one helper but an additional Workawayer would be amazing, to get some of our projects further towards completion
    To find out more, please do contact us.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Building
    General Maintenance
    Help in the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are friendly and outgoing and look forward to welcoming you. You might be able to improve your English (if that's an aim), learn about building and decorating and enjoy life in a very pretty part of England.

    We enjoy meeting visitors from other cultures and countries. Our house is very close to London - good for visiting in your free time. You would have the chance to live in a 17th century cottage in one of the loveliest parts
    of England and - hopefully - form a longterm friendship with our family.

  • Help

    Help

    We would welcome your help, mainly for maintenance/repair to the house and outbuildings.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, Danish

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You would stay in a studio in the garden, and have full use of the shared areas of the house. We all meet together for dinner.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    When you're not working, you can enjoy enjoy exploring the local countryside, including Frensham Ponds, you can visit nearby towns and villages or take a trip to London. In addition, the coast is fairly near. We are very happy to include you on trips out with the family.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 146419739752