Loving person to help with children and house in the little paradise of Scarborough, South Africa

Country

South Africa

Favourited 346 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    16  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    25/07/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    701

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    90.5 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

  • Badges

    Good Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    In 2019, we are fully booked. Sorry.

    I am English, I grew up in France and lived 15 years in Spain. I have been living in South Africa for 7 years.
    I have 2 adorable children of 5 and 8 years old, a boy and a girl. My name is Joanna.
    I am a multitalented mother / tour guide / travel agent / artist / yogi / documentary producer / nature lover. Your presence will allow me to share daily kid and house care, daily chit chat and the nurturing of our garden so that my daily routines become more enjoyable by freeing some space for myself and sharing my knowledge with you.
    I am mainly involved in producing beautiful organic ceramic art, and I also provide some freelance marketing services for the hospitality and travel businesses. I am working on my own start up travel agency and I still work as a tour guide occasionally.

    We'd like you to be part of our family, share our meals and our activities too when possible. And maybe some digital marketing if you are keen and have a little experience of websites and social media.

    On your side, open mindedness and initiative are important, and the exchange is more interesting for people who like to be surrounded by nature and the sea (cold sea!) and learn about minimum waste, vegetarian food, healthy nutrition, conscious parenting and looking after chicken!

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Other
    Help in the house
    Language practice

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will learn a lot from my children and the Waldorf way but also from the culture and wildlife of this small region called the Southern Peninsula, the Cape Peninsula or the Deep South.
    This community is very focused on conscious living, and Scarborough is a conservation village, so much can be learned about respecting the environment, and treading lightly.

    This is a beautiful village close to Cape of Good Hope Nature Reserve, settled in the UNESCO Table Mountain National Park, home to the Cape Flower Kingdom. A nature lover's paradise. Kite surf and surf spot. Hiking.
    Concerts in the village, craft markets, great food, etc... Great vibe.

  • Help

    Help

    I offer free accommodation and meals 5 days a week for a minimum of 2 weeks in my house in exchange for au pair work with the kids and house tasks. I am looking for a well travelled and environmentally conscious person of 20 to 50 years old.

    I would include you in the care of our garden and house, so gardening, and DIY woodwork skills are a plus.

    Experience with kids required, either personal (siblings, family) or professional (looking after children experience...).

    My children are very curious, open, loving and always up and down. They are schooled at the local Waldorf schools. Activities they love include very simple crafting, painting, gardening, baking and taking beautiful walks through the village to the beach, the riverside or to visit friends. Swimming...

    Free wifi.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Fluent English, French, Spanish, a bit of Portuguese and German and Italian

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Individual cabin, with its own outside covered bathroom (toilet and hot shower) and shared living and kitchen in the main house (until 9 pm), free wifi, help with your leisure and travel plans.
    Healthy vegetarian meals shared cooked with love and shared with the family on the days of work. (Plus occasional fish and mussels from the local beach if our guest wants to share). We can also make vegan food if you are vegan.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The village is not connected to public transport but there are nice venues to eat out on your days off in the village.

    If you need help with your travel plans around Cape Town, South Africa, or Southern Africa, that's right up my street!

    You will organise your own transport to and from the airport if you are not already in Cape Town and during your stay if you need to go anywhere else.
    Uber drive from the village to any spot around Cape Town or to the closest train station. You just need to get the app on your phone.

    We are concerned by the environment and healthy eating and we hope you are too. South Africa is water scarce so we have adapted our lifestyle to that, please adopt it too while you are here.

    If you are interested please send us a message, so that we can organise a skype chat and find out more :-)

    Looking forward to meeting you! :-)

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    About 5 hours per day, 5 days

See you!
Walking to the beach
10 minute walk to the beach
Our house
Your cabin
Another shell?
A shell?













Host ref number: 144351879617