Support our quest to become carbon neutral – let´s regenerate our small-scale farm in Sweden!

Country

Sweden

Favourited 98 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    9  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    17/10/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Welcome to our place on earth: our farm close to Örebro, two hours west of Stockholm. We are two value driven, middleaged, individuals with a vivid compass for sustainable development. Our farm (7 hectare) is our place on earth since 2015. Our vision and plan is to live a good life here, where our needs will be met whilst navigating within the planetary boundaries. We are on our way to transform the farm to regenerative agriculture, enabling and encouraging biodiversity, circular flows, permaculture, perennial farming etc. The day we are leaving Tellus, we aim to leave our farm in a much healthier condition than it was at our arrival back in 2015.

    Upcoming projects 2019 are installation of solar power and fencing pastureland to enable holistic management of grazing, both with the aim to reduce our carbon footprint. The pasture field will also take it´s early steps transforming into regenerating soils using methods and models like agroforestry, silvopasture, forest garden etcetera. In april the lambs will arrive, which also requires attendance. And of course there will be a lot to do in the veggie garden.

    To enable our needs of recreation, leasure, freedom and room for just being we need to be more people on the farm. Therefore we are planning to host volunteers (seasonal) as well as enable persons with tiny houses/house on wheels to make themselfs a home at our farm (long-term). Starting in 2018 a friend of us is having our tiny house as secondary residence. That is: the two of us are staying 100 % at the farm, our friend is staying parts of the year, and than we hope to have approximately four volunteers here during may to the end of september.

    The other animals on the farm are: nine cuddly sheep, 20 charactarful hens, a few sweet honey bee colonies, a magnificent cat with masterskills in hunting and last but not least an energetic and herd-oriented pumi dog.

    We are trained within the field of sustainable development, with specific competence in integrating the dimensions of ecological, social and economic sustainability. One of us works as a sustainability strategist (100 %) with the municipality as employer, focusing on the implementation of Agenda 2030. Outside paid work also involved in the transition network as course leader. One of us works parttime as a counseller in psychoemotional support and traumatology with a goverment agency as employer. Outside paid work almost all of our energy goes to the farm. To take care of ourselfes we do yoga, walks in the forest, bicycling, kayaking and fill up ur batteries in concerts or at cafés meeting friends.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Art project

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Staying at our farm will engage your hands, heart and head in a health promoting process.
    Hands: much practical stuff longing to get done.
    Head: get to know why things need to be done, to serve the vision.
    Heart: expanding love and gratitude to the nature in general and to all it´s eco-system services. Hopefully also development of friendship with the beings on the farm!

    Learning possibilities on site: Practical skills: ecological vegetable gardening, permaculture, keeping gene pool sheep, poultry, honey bees in top-bar hives, composting, bokashi/effective micro-organisms, fermentation, compost toilets, biochar, etc. Theoretical skills: As above, plus sustainable development, Agenda 2030, transition network-knowledge.

    Cultural exchange: we are very interested in what is happening in the society, locally as well as globally, and enjoy such discussions. Also having a deep interest in research results regarding anything that could be implemented at our farm and will therefore be able to integrate many perspectives in discussions.

    You are invited to share your gifts with us, while we offer a nourishing sweet spot where you can flourish - aiming to reciprocal benefit of yours and ours abundance.

  • Help

    Help

    If you have previous experience in farming and/or gardening that’s an advantage, but not required - the main thing is that you are open, willing to learn and like outdoor work! Do you have other practical skills that's welcome.

    Upcoming projects 2019 are installation of solar power and fencing pastureland to enable holistic management of grazing, both with the aim to reduce our carbon footprint. The pasture field will also take it´s early steps transforming into regenerating soils using methods and models like agroforestry, silvopasture, forest garden etcetera. In april the lambs will arrive, which also requires attendance. And of course there will be a lot to do in the veggie garden.

    Once the installation of solar power and the fencing is done, other projects thereafter will be construction of compost toilets, infrastructure for harvesting rainwater, renovate the root cellar, build a greenhouse. And so on.

    We will offer clear structure during your workdays. Instructions for the work will be there, with background information (vision, mission, aim), demonstrations and feedback. Most days one of us are at home but one day a week you might be working on your own.

    Other examples of work tasks:
    Vegetable gardening: sowing, planting, weeding, treat the beds with water and fertilizers, harvesting.
    Farmhouses: painting, including preparatory work.
    Housekeeping: window-cleaning, vacuum-cleaning.
    Cooking: cooking the lunch for all of us is scheduled, this means that you need to have a fairly good knowledge about cooking.
    Animal care: water, food, clear the dung out. Maintenance of livestock buildings.
    Forest pasture: coppice shoots, make wood-chips.
    Biochar production: carry firewood, maintain the pyrolysis over the day.
    Compost toilet-to be: might not be completed as the volunteer period starts: in that case, helping out while constructing it.
    Wood chips: produce and allocate.
    Firewood: splitting, stacking.
    Other: If you are skilled in playing music, singing, making art, photografy, drawing grapical infoboards etcetera this is also very welcome and valued work.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Swedish, English, German

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Your accomodation is a shared one-room studio, 35 m². Beds and sofa for hanging out. The studio has electricity, but no water or sewer (that is: no kitchen, toilette or shower in the studio). A small kitchen in a nearby building is yours to use and take care of. Toilettes are availabe in our house – unless we have managed to finalise our compost toilette, that otherwise is the one we are going to use in order to have a circular nutrition cycle. Showers, laundry- and WiFi facilities available. The courtyard environment is concentrated, with all buildings close to each other.

    Lunch will be prepared by and for the people that are at the farm, on a rotational scheme. We´re eating lunch together as well as having some snack breaks during working hours. You arrange your own breakfast, evening meal, and snacks which you enjoy without our company. Food is vegetarian. We supply the groceries. We are not overly strict when it comes to alcohol but we do not allow excessive consumption. Smoking is prohibited on our farm.

    We have bikes and a tent that you can borrow.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Our farm is easy accessible: buses takes you right into our regional capital Örebro (150 000 inhabitants) within 25 minutes (18 rides daily weekdays, half during weekends). From our regional capital you can go by train or bus to Stockholm (many times a day, the ride takes about two hours). Also Göteborg is reached by train, city to city in three hours. Train to Oslo takes five hours.

    Surroundings of the farm (walking distance): Our home is situated on the countryside, in a small village. The surrounding area is diverse in biotopes, has a meandering river suitable for recreation, walks, bath, or stay overnight in a well-kept shelter. Nice walking areas. Rich in birds, deers and elks. Forest close by. The farm has beautiful peaceful spaces where one can rest, meditate or do some yoga. Lovely neigbours, caring community. A bunch of good transition network-friends close by.

    Within 20-25 km (easily accessible by bus): 1) Our regional capital Örebro (150 000 inhabitants). Restaurants, concerts, theater, cinema, aqualand, county museum, outdoor- and herritage areas, pharmacies and hospital, nightlife and shops. The town has recently been awarded town centre of the year, most beautiful municipal park as well as best environmental municipality in Sweden. () 2) Two picturesque small-towns: Nora () and Lindesberg () both very well worth visiting, with lakeside town centres.
    3) Kilsbergen, a low mountain range great for outdoor life, with semi-wilderness, nature reserves, hiking and mountainbike trails, shelters and cabins. Lots of information, maps etc available at several websites.

    Process prior to your visit at our farm:
    We want to be able to accept as many volunteers as possible, with accurate matching. To ensure this we look forward to receive an application from you. We want you to specify and include: your experiences, if you have tried Workaway/volunteering earlier and experiences from that, experiences or skills/talents that can be helpful in the work, what languages do you speak, why do you want to come here, etc. We will also have a Skype-meeting.

    Once you are accepted we need to stay in contact. If you do not respond to the answer we write to you we will cancel the agreement after two weeks - we do not want to deny other volunteers to come if it is not necessary. So check this site for answers if you request to come to our farm. We also want you to send us a phone number so we can keep in contact with each other.

    As we are striving to be climate neutral we´d love to have our volunteers traveling here by train.

    Welcome!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (4.8)









Host ref number: 143716352341