Come and help at our place in the Chilcotin Grasslands, BC, Canada

Country

Canada

Favourited 154 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    8  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    14/08/2022

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 6 days

  • paid opportunity

    Host offers payment

  • Badges

    Good Host
 
  2022 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Kurt, Brenda and our son, Kris (age 24), have purchased a B & B in the Chilcotin Grasslands in British Columbia. There is 10 rooms, a huge lounge, games room and dining for the guests. We also have opened a Teahouse for visitors in the area during the day. We have horses, dogs and cats and are looking to expand to raise Alpacas. We have a gift store in the Lodge as well. There is much to do in the area and we are looking for one or two helpers during the busy season from May until the end of September. We want someone who wants to be part of our family and join in on not only helping with the guests, yardwork and animals, but also having some time off with us to have fun and learn about the province of B.C.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    Animal Care
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    They will learn the hospitality industry and will meet a lot of guests, learning about different cultures from around the world. They will learn basic skills and also how to bake the BEST cinnamon rolls in the world!!

  • Host offers payment in line with the minimum wage

    Host offers payment in line with the minimum wage

    This host offers accommodation and payment.

    Host has indicated that they will pay at least the minimum hourly wage of their country for each hour worked and that accommodation will also be provided. They are asking for help with a business or business activity. Contact the host directly via the site messenger for more information and details about the wage provided. Any arrangements should be agreed in advance with your host.

  • Help

    Help

    We are a tourist based business and will need help with cleaning rooms, laundry, cooking, baking, serving, entertaining guests, yardwork, looking after animals, helping with maintenance ie) painting fences..etc. We are willing to pay $500.00 Canadian a month plus room and board.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have a room in the lodge for the workaway to stay. There is a bed, dresser, closet and sink in it. There is a shared bathroom down the hall. We also have a cabin when not in use by guests, that the workaway can stay in. We offer 3 meals a day with snacks and beverages when needed. We eat either before the guests or after, depending on the number of guests that are staying.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    When we are not busy, the helpers can go into town or visit the area attractions, such as Farwell Canyon, go on a river rafting ride, visit with guests, read a book, go into the back country and see some wildlife, beautiful birds or just enjoy the peace and quiet that the Chilcotin has to offer.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    We have an RV park with power, water and sewer and we also have a field that would accompany dry camping.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)







Host ref number: 942945951162