Volunteer with animals on our non-profit sheep farm in Naustdal, Norway

Country

Norway

updated  

Favourited 868 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    35  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    02/12/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    92.3 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 4 days

  • Badges

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Our non-profit farm is a wool farm for sheep and a ponnie breeding farm. We dont slaughter any of our animals and they are all loved as individuals. We always need some strong hands That Want to help out With The everyday farm tasks. In the winter The Main help is to feed The animals and clean them out. The help is mostly The same every Day. For animallovers you can spend as much of your freetime as you want petting and cuddeling The animals.

    We have a nonprofit farm. The sheep are kept like in a sheep sanctuary and we use the wool to pay for the expences for keeping the sheep. The horses are barely paying theire own food but are important for having a good grazing system on The farm.

    We live in Norwegian farm arear. That means there is only one bus going to and from the city each Day. There are no activities for young people nearby. So you must like beeing in a "lonely" place. We are a cupple With a twelve year old daughter. Our daughter loves to spend time and play cardgames With The workawayers. We "oldies" are more for conversation.
    We have fantastic nature surrounding us on all sides.
    The furry part of the farm family consists of sheep, goats, horses, cats, and chickens.
    If you want to experience authentic Norwegian existancy this is the place to go.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Charity Work
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Here we run a sheep sanctuary. And its a 24/7 job for me. I expect anyone who comes here to do their best and always put the best of the animals first. Some times of year can be really hectic and some can be a bit more relaxed. But we expect people to be interested in farming and learning about farm chores. If you only want a cheap Holiday in norway you will be disappointed (and so will we). We expect full effort Five hours Five days a week. And you offcourse get to take two days of each week to Explore The arear or do What ever you Want. The days must be arranged With The other workawayers so there is always one workawayer at The farm if Your two or more. We are open minded and like to discus politics and everyday things with people who stay here. I think its interesting to get to know different people and cultures. And i also like to tell about Norwegian history and tradition. If you have a Chance to bring a car you should. Public transportation is verry limited. We also expect everyone to do their share of household work. Cleaning dishes and keeping The house tidy.
    We can not welcome workawayers Who bring dogs or other animals. No smokers. And you have to speak english realy well.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    Feeding animals, cleaning the waste from the animals, building fences, walking With The ponies, brushing ponies and work at the farm that needs to be done. And of course giving the animals lots of cuddling. Giving water and catching animals that break out. Making food. Cleaning. Painting. Weeding and cutting, raking, drying and collecting gras. Looking for animals in the Mountain.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Norwegian: Fluent
    French: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    If your a workawayer on your own you stay in a room in our house and live totaly with the familiy. If your two workawayers you get your own house to sleep in but you share all meals and so with us.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    A good possibility to learn to know Norway and Norwegians.
    Cant offer pay (only food and lodging) but i think it would be a great experience.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours per day (max 25hours/week)

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (3.0)

Cultural exchange: (2.7)

Communication: (3.7)



























Host ref number: 14318467154a