Come to our village and help with gardening in Bishop's Stortford, United Kingdom

Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 25 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    19/08/2019

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: No minimum

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Brian and I are a retired couple, we live in a village in what is known as commuter belt, because we are in an area close to London where a lot of the residents work. For years we did B&B at our house and although we are supposed to have retired we still take a few guests. We have 2 dogs, Flossie is a 12 year old Terrier and Abbot is a 4 month Labrador puppy. I like walking and take the dogs each day to a National Trust forest called Hatfield Forest.
    We are also close to Cambridge which is good for shopping, theatre and history
    We have 6 grandchildren who when not too busy with their sports, friends and studies visit us.
    We have a garden which needs attention, we do like gardening and our garden, but recently we have had other projects in the house and so been unable to keep the garden up to scratch.
    Brian is an a professional Artist, he has a studio here at the house, I'm a professional cook, so you won't go hungry.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    For someone interested in art Brian will be happy to give lessons, he worked in advertising as an Art Director for many years and what would be perfect is someone who could show him what he could achieve on the computer, on the other hand it's not important to have art experience. As a cook we can do some cooking of traditional food.
    We are near to London and Cambridge a bit of site seeing could be enjoyed.

  • Help

    Help

    We have a nice garden, not too big, but this year we've been busy with other projects and the garden needs quite a bit of trimming, shrubs trees etc, we have a pond that we've trying to restore so help with that. The person that comes to help doesn't need gardening knowledge, but strength for some of the tasks.
    The main bed needs digging and replanting with fruit bushes, vegetable and flowers.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    I don't speak any languages to converse well enough.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Our house is a 4 bedroom detached house , we have a single and a twin room which share a bathroom.
    We have a kitchen dining room, I'm a bit possessive about my kitchen, but if my kitchen rules are adhered to then I don't mind our prospective help using the kitchen.
    We usually watch tele in the evening, and are quite happy for our helper to join us.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We have buses that go from the village to train stations for London, Cambridge and Stansted Airport, and I can help with some of the transport.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 142955352168