Enjoy life on a large acreage in the country in Lone Butte, Canada

Country

Canada

Favourited 15 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    24/09/2021

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I am retired and live on 90 acres in the Interlakes/Bridge Lake area of the South Cariboo, 1/2 hour from 100 Mile House BC. My husband passed away last August. I need help with wood cutting/splitting, carpentry/painting, lawn care, & odd jobs. I have room for 1-2 people. You will work about 3-5 hours per day depending on jobs. You will have lots of spare time to be a tourist in our area. I have 2 dogs & 2 cats. I go to 100 Mile House about twice a week for shopping. Workawayers are welcome to come along to experience a rural small town. I are willing to show you attractions nearby. If anyone enjoys cooking or would like to learn, I would be pleased to teach you. I belong to two volunteer organizations which keep me busy as well. Currently there are several fires burning across British Columbia, along with Covid restrictions.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Travellers will learn about Canadian rural life, learning how to cut trees & split wood. We can also learn from their experiences and learn about their country.

  • Help

    Help

    I would like help with gardening, mending fences, painting a shed, mowing lawns, getting wood for winter.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    1 queen bed, 1 double bed

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There are local rodeos throughout the summer, fall fairs, the Garlic Festival, fishing, hiking trails. Since Covid-19, all events were cancelled for 2020 & 2021. As Covid restrictions lift, activities will resume fall/winter 2021 & 2022.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    Workawayers can stay on property. I would like of they can help with some yard work during the summer months, June to August. They can stay for short periods of time, as others may want to come to explore the area.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    This host has said they are willing to accept those travelling with a pet.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    3-5 hours/day; 3-4 days/week


Host ref number: 142953313765