Join me at my farm space and immerse yourself in nature and art in Camaiore, Italy

Country

Italy

Favourited 83 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    3  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    14/08/2022

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    96.3 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 7 days

 
  2022 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    P.S. Between last october and this april 2022 I have had 6 workawayers here and it has been a great and positive experience as I believe also my helpers had a good time. I will do a summerbreak now and start hosting again mid-september....

    I am Maja, a swiss sculptor living in northern Tuscany for the last 30 years. Last year I was able to buy the land, olivegrove and 5 small buildings next to my house; a dream coming through! I am now building my future studio on it and I am working to clean the overgrown part of the olive grove. My goal is to create a space that can be used by artists in the future and I also want to start some organic gardening on a small scale, but the soil is good and I have some farming experience from the past. I love to combine the land work with my art work but right now it is a bit overwhelming - there is so much to do!
    I have finished to renovate a little house on top of the land and it is furnished with basics like kitchen, boiler etc and has a wonderful view into the green and also over the sea. It is perfect for hosting some helping hands, but it is small and provides room for 1-2 persons.

    I live in the old farmhouse next to it, together with my italian boyfriend Maurizio, a big dog Alaska and a cat Sahel. Maurizio works all day as a welder at a company and I spend most time at my studio which for the moment is nearby in Camaiore.
    Your stay here will likely be of a meditative and quiet kind, as you will have a lot of time to yourself. There is a good energy here and it is an opportunity for who wants a break from crowds and city life.
    In the afternoons you are welcome to do some artwork on your own, in which I can assist you. That includes stone carving, modelling, mould making, welding ecc ecc.

    You will eat lunch with me and dinner with us at my house.
    Public transport is poor, but there are three busses a day to Camaiore and from there busses to Lucca and Viareggio.To have a car is helpful here and there is lots to explore near here in the afternoons. We are close to Pietrasanta and Carrara with their big artists-comunities.
    It's a place of art, and art lovers are doubly welcome!

    When I was 20 I have worked on farms for others and the physical work was a positive experience for me and I would love to give that same opportunity to others.
    I have done 8 years of bnb in the past and always loved having people from all over the world at my house.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Farmstay help
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    This is tuscany here and close to Pietrasanta and Carrara, where sculptors from all over the world come to for work. So there is a lot in that sense to explore and if you want to sculpt yourself, I will provide you space for that. I am also ready to do some stonework teaching or moldmaking etc.
    Daytrips to Florence, Cinque terre etc are easy from here. Also the beach is 7km away.
    You will live on your own, 100meters from my house but we will share lunch and dinner. My boyfriend does not speak english but he is very sociable ;-)

  • Help

    Help

    Depending on your experience and capacity, and the specific moment of your stay, the help can go from digging, cutting plants, preparing the ground for vegetable garden, to using a chainsaw, or cutting grass. Planting, sowing...it all depends on the period of the year. Maybe building a fence for chicken or helping the construction of my studio which is in progress. I will give specifics when you apply for a defined period.

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Italian: Fluent
    Spanish: Intermediate

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will have a cabin on your own with bathroom, kitchencorner, single bed, table and lots of space outdoors. Very romantic and great view! I will provide sheet and laundry. Internet for the moment is only at my house which is 50meters from the cabin, but I have a good connection there.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    As mentioned above, near here are Lucca, Florence, Carrara ecc. Public transport is bad but there is a bus three times a day up my hill. Camaiore is 5 driving minutes away for groceries etc. I can provide a bicycle. In 30min you can walk either up to Pedona or down to Camaiore.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    25 hours/week- food

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (4.7)

Communication: (5.0)






Host ref number: 136318314768