Riding school near Mainz, Germany need some help with our horses



Favourited 233 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 5 days

  • Badges

Contact Register

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

  • Description


    Riding School with icelandic horses at the edge of nature´s reserve Soonwald is looking for help in the stables, farmwork, building projects, fencing, gardening... - horse riding opportunity if you are an experiienced horseback rider! There´s also a lot of work for all kinds of skilled handimen...

    Islandpferde-Reitschule am Rande des Naturparks Soonwald sucht Hilfe bei Stall- und Hofarbeit, Bauprojekten, Zaunbau und im Garten... - für erfahrene Reiter Reitmöglichkeit vorhanden! Auch Menschen mit handwerklichem Geschick aller Art finden hier Arbeit...

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    General Maintenance
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Language practice

  • Help


    My name is Kristina, I´m a 48 years old horse riding instructor. Since 2004 I´ve been the owner of a riding school specialized in icelandic horses. I will need help feeding 40 horses in the morning and in the evening, cleaning the stables and helping the young riding pupils (up from 10 years). In summertime, fencing and mowing are big and sometimes never ending tasks... There is also some work to do in the courtyard, around the stables and of course in the house.
    I also need somebody to tidy up and repair the beautiful but old and damaged stone walls in the courtyard and the garden, it would be great to find someone who is experienced in this kind of work. And there are some building projects. We always can offer lots of work for all kinds of skilled handimen so if you´re experienced to work with stone, wood, machines... you´re very very welcome to join us for some weeks!

    You should be at least 20 years old and at least a little experienced with horses. If you are well experienced in horse riding, you may join us on our very nice riding trips through the fields and forests. However, you must weigh less than 80 kg since otherwise you would be too heavy for our relatively small horses. And you should know that we don´t have capacaties to offer you horse riding lessons if you are an absolute beginner, especially not if you don´t understand the german language.

    Especially my apprentice is looking forward to some help and company. She had been a globetrotter for many years and first time she came to me as a workawayer, too ;o)

    If you want to come and help us you should be ready to stay not less than two weeks. Although we are able to speak English enough to communicate, many of our young clients don´t. So it would be great if you could speak at least basically German. If you don´t your English should be really good so that we´re able to communicate ;o)

    We also keep dogs and cats, so you should love pets and of course you mustn´t be allergic to animals or hay.
    Especially in winter, the farm work sometimes is physically hard, muddy, dirty and uncomfortable - you should know this ;o)

    Even if the work is sometimes hard you will meet many friendly people who love to talk and to laugh.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Deutsch, Englisch (German, English)

  • Accommodation


    You may live in our gipsy wagon placed in the courtyard or in a simple guest room. The caravan is really cosy but it has no good heater. For that reason I can´t offer workaway stages in wintertime. There´s electricity and a comfortable double bed but you have to go outside and cross the courtyard to find the bathroom. WiFi doesn´t work really good in the caravan but in the courtyard it´s okay and in our house you may also use LAN. You share the kitchen, the bathroom and the living room with me, my girlfriend and my apprentice but of course sometimes we want to enjoy some privacy so you should be an independent character who sometimes likes to be for his/her own, too. Otherwise there are my clients - a lot of friendly, open-minded, horseloving people so you won´t feel lonesome!

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Our farm s situated 10 km from Bad Kreuznach and 40 km from Mainz within a beautiful hiking area with forests, rivers, rocks... The next train station is 3 km and the next bus stop 2 km. But who loves just to experience nature can do it on foot, bike or horseback...

    Nearby Mainz dates back to around 38 BC, when the Romans built a citadel there. The city's location at the confluence of the Rhine and the Main is ideal for trade, something reflected by the artifacts kept in the Landesmuseum, that show there have been settlements since 300,000 BC.

    Things to see include the Cathedral of St Martin and St Stephan, especially on Tuesdays, Fridays, and Saturdays, when the farmers' market is open. Although the cathedral was actually started in 975, most of what is seen today was built from the 11th to the 13th centuries.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

My Australian Shepherd puppy Nava, born in June 2018
In Summer, you may live in the cosy gipsy wagon
The courtyard with the gipsy wagon
The "Rotenfels", highest german Rock except of the Alps, is just 6 km away from our farmhouse
After feeding our horses you may enjoy sights like this ;o)
Our beautiful farmhouse

Host ref number: 135297143812

Give the gift of Workaway this Christmas
read more