updated  

Help us on our project in Torre del Mar, Spain

  • Spain
  • Favourited 345 times
  • Last activity: 07/02/2023

Availability

  2023 

 Min stay requested: 1 week or less

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    We are in the middle of a renovation project in Torre del Mar, 30 kms east of Malaga.

    We are looking for a workawayer to finish some rooms with painting and gardening etc. Painting experience is essential. You will have your own room and a mountain bike to use to go to town or the beach.

    There are numerous other projects for workawayers with the right skills.

    We are also looking for someone to help build a wooden patio terrace in the upper house which is part of my brothers family project. There is 3 bedrooms available for workawayers at any given time

    There is a water tank and solar collectors to put up. Plumbing all in place just the frame and panels to put up.

    There are a Rejas (Ironwork) that need glossing

    Cupboards painting and doors fitting.

    Pool that needs cleaning

    Tiling & Plastering

    Installing surface mounted conduit.


    The property is 500m2 which includes 3 homes and a swimming pool and 2 large patios and is a 15-minute walk away from town. We have various projects to do throughout the property. The project will end up as a digital nomad centre with cinema, gym and games area and a vending area for drinks and snacks but that is a year to 18 months down the line. At the moment it is a large dwelling that needs some specific work done. We are reforming the property and if you can paint and decorate and want to be part of the project drop us a message and lets chat.


    I am in a wheelchair I will need help with some of the hosting duties. The place is big and plenty of comfortable spaces for you to relax in in your spare time. We are in a great location the views are beautiful and sunrise is always stunning to watch, we are in the countryside with plenty of walks all around but we are also close to town. There is a mountain bike which you can use and the beach is a 10 minute ride.

    We are situated a 15 minute walk from Torre del Mar where there is good bus connections to Malaga, Nerja, and Granada etc. There is also a bus stop at the bottom of our road which goes to Malaga. If you like to spend some time sightseeing we have Granada (1.5hr), Malaga (30mins), Marbella (1hour 45 mins), Rhonda (2 hrs) Seville (3hrs), and Cordoba (1.5hrs) away by bus.

    We are fully equipped with kitchen, dishwasher and bathrooms etc we also have a laundry room & washing machine we have high speed internet throughout the property

    I work as a web developer but during the next few months we will be concentrating on adding the finishing touches to the project. We eat a general mediteranean low fat diet with a lot of salads, pastas, rice dishes but also like pizzas, curries, soups and stews etc I don't drink or smoke but if you wish to, feel free to smoke on the patio/terraces. Age is not a problem as with it comes knowledge and skills.

    I thank you for taking the time to read through our project and hope you come by and stay for a while during your travels.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    General Maintenance
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are a 3 adults and 2 children. We are a mix of trades web designers, traders and a vet but have lived in Spain for over 30 years so can give you all aspects of living and working abroad as an expat. We have extensive local knowledge and are always willing to help. You will have your own room. We may have other workawayers depending on when your schedule.

  • Help

    Help

    We have plenty of projects planned throughout the property most of which could be done by someone with general maintenance skills. Outstanding projects include: Painting, dry walling, cabling and plumbing

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Intermediate

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Large 3 floor property with 3 self contained apartments surrounded by nature and close to the beach. We are on a hill overlooking Torre del Mar. It is a 15 minute walk to the beach/supermarket cafes.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are a coastal town mainly used by the spanish during the summer. Torre del Mar is a medium sized coastal town it has an extensive shopping mall with a cinema, the town has plenty restaurants and bars and a 8km beach promande, cycle path and running track along the beach we have 2 beach gyms open to the public and both in the mornings and evenings it is bristling with people out training. Malaga is a 40 minute bus ride and there are plenty of castles, art, historic places to visit there. The climate is one of the best in Spain due to the Sierras behind Torre del Mar and close proximity to the mediterranean sea ensures wit have a pleasant climate all year round.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    We are geeks, wordpress and bitcoin traders and we have a 600mb fibre connection

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    We have a large car park over looking the mediterranean

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    This host has said they are willing to accept those travelling with a pet.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 per day but can help more per day and take a few days breaks if wanted(max 25hours/week)

Host ref number: 134947288653

Feedback (5)



Feedback

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.8)

Cultural exchange: (4.5)

Communication: (5.0)














Garden and dog walking help in a rural village in the mountains, Castellon, Spain
Join our family near the center of Palma, Mallorca