Come and help us with gardening in a small and friendly village near Cambridge, UK


United Kingdom

Favourited 214 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    92.3 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
  • Description


    We are 78 and 68 years young and have five children and eight grandchildren. Our grandchildren are between new born and twenty five years old and although they do not live with us they keep us living a youthful life. We live in a sixteenth century thatched cottage in a small very friendly village which is within thirty minutes of Historic Cambridge, Peterborough and Bedford with smaller towns nearby, Transport is available to get you to train and bus stations. London is less than one hour away by train. We have an acre garden which we open to the public once a year to raise money for charity under the National Garden Scheme. My husband is not too well and is limited to the amount he can do in the garden which gives me a problem in getting the garden ready for the 14th June. We are looking for help in the garden for one to three weeks from 20th May until 14th June. The work is not strenuous and could include a little small maintenance jobs. The work would suit male or female or couples. We have a youthful outlook and enjoy thr company of young people.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    General Maintenance

  • Help


    Gardening with possibly small maintenance jobs. The one acre garden is set to lawns, orchard, vegetable plot and flower beds

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation


    Twin bedded room in thatched cottage

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Cambridge, Peterborough, Bedford, Huntingdon and Kettering are close by and London is within easy reach.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.8)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)

Host ref number: 134621334287