Help us revive an authentic Canarian finca in the north of Tenerife, Spain

Country

Spain

updated  

Favourited 68 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    5  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    16/09/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    There are two of us, my Canarian partner and I, as well as three cats and one dog. Our finca is in the north of Tenerife, within walking distance to the centre of Icod de los Vinos.

    The finca was almost 30 years unmaintained and uncultivated and we are currently facing the task to get this place back in working order. We have already done a lot of clearing and cleaning (see the snapshots in the gallery), but we are far from being finished as there is still a lot to do.

    If you are a person who enjoys clearing and getting things organised, if you are not afraid of getting your hands dirty and love gardening and/or construction work, if you find it intriguing to discover Tenerife from a very personal and authentic perspective and you are interested becoming temporarily a part of our family, then you will feel very happy and comfortable with us, taking part in reconstructing an ecological finca in Icod de los Vinos!

    It would be great if you have some experience in farming, DIY, and handling/training dogs; however, this is not a condition. However, it is IMPORTANT that you are interested in coming a little bit longer; we are looking for mid-long stays, MIN. 6 WEEKS AND LONGER.

    It is a MUST that you have a basic level of SPANISH. No need to be fluent but you must be able to have a conversation in Spanish (can be with errors and slow, but in Spanish!). You should also be able to read Spanish without the need to look up every single word, in language levels terminology: Your level should be at least A2.

    Although our finca is like a little paradise in the middle of the historical town of Icod and pretty close to the San Marcos beach, we hope that you will be coming intending to help and for the cultural exchange and not as much for holidays. We would appreciate it if you would be willing to fully commit yourself to us and our project.

    We wish that you will enjoy your stay with us and we with you.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will be able to learn a lot about ecological produce, permaculture and agriculture in general as well as maintenance jobs and building work. If you are interested in working with computers you will also be able to learn a lot about website programming, offline and online marketing, and photo manipulation to name a few.

    We share between us a lot of experience and skills and we are always very happy about knowledge transfer. We both are pretty good at cooking and you can learn to cook Canarian or a combination of German-Russian cuisine.

    We do a lot of hiking and walking and swimming; in the early mornings, we regularly go down to the beach or, in the afternoons, go for a walk to the forest. One day per week we always go on a tour to explore another part of the island and you are welcome to join.

  • Help

    Help

    We are looking for 2 individuals with different skill sets and interests:-

    (1) Work and participate in our ongoing projects and tasks in the finca:

    - Various work related to agriculture, such as weeding, sowing, pruning, applying insecticides, digging and preparing the soil for sowing, planting in pots
    - Harvesting, picking fruit and vegetables
    - Assisting in the installation of the watering system of the land and in the installation of localised irrigation and cleaning of drippers and filters
    - Working on various construction projects such as the composting area
    - Repair and maintenance work inside and outside the house

    (2) Help with running the household and house garden:

    - Helping to keep the house, terraces and patio area clean
    - Cooking lovely meals for 3-4 people
    - Working on the decoration of the house, entrance area, garden design, etc.
    - Taking care of the house garden, weeding, planting and harvesting
    - Keeping the workshop and seeds area clean and organised
    - Helping to keep the controlling system for planting, seeding, harvesting, etc. up to date to comply with the requirements of being an ecological Finca
    - Assisting with social media, searching information online, etc.

    Please note that we prefer individual travellers to couples as it's pretty unlikely to find a couple that comes with exactly the combination of skills we require.

    Almost all of our tasks are physical and require endurance and true (not faked!) interest to work manually as well as in the garden. However, they can be performed by a man or a woman and we are quite flexible with agreeing upon the tasks depending on strength, knowledge and abilities.

    It will definitely help if you are an early bird as we preferably work in the mornings and start at 7:00/ 7:30 am or sometimes even earlier to avoid the heat during the daytime.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    Spanish is the main language spoken in the house when we are all together, you will therefore have plenty of opportunities to practise your Spanish. Communication in German or English is no problem with me but Jesus, the Canario, will always prefer Spanish for any conversation although he is interested to improve his English and learn some German.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will live together with us in the main house, in a shared room that accommodates 2 individual people. The bathroom, kitchen and living area are all shared.

    We provide the accommodation and your food for free during your stay. Please note that we are not vegans or vegetarians, but it's normally no problem at all to cater to your habits and preferences as long as you don't have very unusual and expensive needs and tastes.

    We will be either cooking the lunch/dinner together, or we cook for you, or you cook for everyone, we will discuss that individually.

    Wifi is available all through the house and on the patio.

    Please be aware that we have one dog and three cats and that you must not be allergic or find it disquieting to live with animals in one place.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We welcome volunteers that are sincerely interested in our project and have read our profile completely. To learn how we function you probably need at least 1 full week and after that you will start enjoying of learning new skills.

    The finca is approx. 3 minutes walking distance from the centre of Icod de los Vinos and 7 minutes from the central bus station. You can spend your spare time joining our activities or explore the island on your own. However, we will occasionally ask you, to take the dog with you.

    We are sorry but we don't accept short time travellers... The minimum stay is one month, ideally longer.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    We've got a fibre with 600 Mb and WiFi around the whole house. Please note that your working times must not be in conflict with our needs.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    A dog isn't a problem as our dog is very sociable. However, your dog must be cat friendly. All other pets shouldn't be a problem.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day






Host ref number: 134454756585