Help needed around our family on our farm in The Yukon Northern Canada

Country

Canada

Favourited 59 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    19/09/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    75.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 22 days

Contact Register
  2019 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi,

    We are a family of five, with the eldest boy who is eight, middle girl six and the youngest boy is four. My wife is from Sweden and I am from the UK, we met in Canada and decided to make a life together here, raise our children in fresh air on good home grown food. We decided to base ourselves in the Yukon and found a farm near to the capital Whitehorse. Our farm is small and most work is done by hand. We do things as naturally as possible and do not use any fertilizers or pesticide chemicals. We have sheep , chickens and ducks for eggs and in the summer chickens raised on pasture for meat and two Italian livestock guardian dogs named Jill and Lilo. We make a garden every year for vegetables starting in May.

    There is lots to do, around the farm, and there is always building work. This year we are putting in a new gravel road, some fencing and a watering system.

    We have had a number of people stay with us as volunteers working on the farm and they have all decided to stay longer as they enjoyed both the farm and the Yukon so much. We are sure you will feel the same way.

    Driving license would help.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Language practice
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    WE enjoy exchanging languages and for the kids to learn different cultures and different languages, so that works for you too. We like our guests to go away with a new perspective on how people can live differently as we live away from the town and grow 90% of our food ourselves.

  • Help

    Help

    Help with the house - Cleaning, some cooking ,shopping etc.

    Help with the kids - Driving to daycare and school and to activities and making games with them and playing with them

    Help with the farm - Feeding animals collecting eggs, cleaning out barn, moving hay, building fences, digging a garden watering plants

    Building and maintenance - General maintenance painting putting up fencing

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Swedish, English a little French and German

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Depending on the time either a travel trailer or a big tent with proper bed in it. Glamping!

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There will be time off to enjoy the wonders of the Yukon, its an adventurers paradise, has an array of activities to suit all tastes and the city of Whitehorse although small has facilities for a place five times its population. We have an amazing games centre, an arts centre two cinemas, numerous events throughout the year and lots of sporting activities. There are lots of local groups and clubs you could also be a part of. Its not difficult to get to know people here as it is a very diverse and cosmopolitan community

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 133864621789