Help me build an intentional community on Anishinaabe land near Mason, USA

Country

United States

Favourited 15 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    29/09/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    80.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 36 days

 
  2021 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I am a young, white queer living on Anishinaabe land south of Lake Superior. I value learning about and building relationships with the land, water, and all the beings we share an ecosystem with through foraging, wildlife tracking, gardening etc.. I am trying to build an intentional living community to connect queer, Black, Indigenous and POC to the land and land based skills in reciprocity and rematriation.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Knowledge exchange about ecosystems, sharing experience decolonial thinking as a white person working with and in relation with a Tribe, building relationships with inland lakes, landscapes, and Lake Superior, spending time with a therapy dog, learning beekeeping skills

  • Help

    Help

    I envision building various types of out houses from wood sheds to an outdoor kitchen to help foster community and shared spaces. I have tools and can bet building supplies, but I need to gain building skills I was never taught growing up.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    I have extra futons in the house and plenty of land to camp on. Drinking water comes from artesian wells and electricity and internet available.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    I have a companion dog who is 6 months old, very well trained, and adores other humans and dogs

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    This host has indicated that they love having digital nomads stay.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    This host has said they are willing to accept those travelling with a pet.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 2 days a week


Host ref number: 133267329395