Help us to implement our dream on a magical place in Lourical do Campo, Portugal

Country

Portugal

updated  

Favourited 137 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    14  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    10/12/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    91.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
 
Join now to contact this host
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi,
    we are Pascal and Pia with our baby dogs Indiana and Naya.
    Last summer we travelled trought Portugal with a friend and fell in love with a "magical place" close to Castelo Branco next to a river in Central Portugal.
    It owns 6 ancient ruins, that we want to build into a beautiful sustainable homestead with the ability for a B&B and a place for a veggie/vegan restaurant. (we see a lot of potential in this land)

    The concept for the project follows sustainability. Our goal is to live independent and happy in Permaculture and with off-grid-systems.

    Pascal is a land gardener from switzerland and knows a lot about construction work. He knows every quote from The Simpsons, is a okay magician ;) and travelled the world on a motorbike with a sidecar.

    Pia is a tailor and is currently studying design at an artschool in Germany (in Portugal when ever she can). She loves creative work with her hands, is a bad lier and travelled the world from time to time.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help with Eco project
    Animal care
    Language practice
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We like to always be a volunteer group around five or more. So we can share work, share good food, share funny stories! There is a lot of knowledge in all of us and we are happy to learn from each other!

  • Help

    Help

    +++ We need someone who is able to weld +++


    We appreciate any way of help, ideas and new input! Build something? Design something? Cook Something? Play something on your guitar? ;)
    You are very welcome!

    At the moment we are looking for people who are willing to do especially manual work. We love to work effectiv, so we can go to bed with a smile and be proud of ourselves.

    As we already have vegetable patches, trees and animals (ducks, bees and our puppies), there is always something to do beside construction work. Especially when Pia is not there, someone is needed who is able to rock the kitchen.


    Please contact us tell us who you are!

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Swiss, German, Englisch

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    In February the project began. We started with a bunch of very good friends, who helped a lot.

    Now we are at a state for a good life on an interim basis (proper kitchen, dry toilettes, shower, tents with mattresses, solar power).

    There is the river Ocreaza (golden river) crossing our land, where we cool down while Siesta break. 10 minutes by car you reach a beautiful lac. This area is surrounded by nice little villages and the closest city Castelo Branco has several things to offer! Sundays we love to go to Alpedrinha, a cute little mountain village, where a weekly eco market takes place.

    We provide food and accommodation in tents with mattresses. It can also be cold in Portugal! So the nights during winter are cold and sometimes wet, so be prepared with proper clothes and shoes and maybe a good sleeping bag (as if our blankets are maybe not enough).

    If you need transport, we will pick you up from Castelo Branco. It's easy to reach from Lisbon by bus or train (around 2h 30 min).
    For us it is a 30 min drive to Castelo Branco by car, so we ask you kindly to be reliable with your arrivings. We also prefer volunteers not to arrive or leave on weekends or on weekdays after 20:00 o'clock. If not possible we are definetly open to talk about it!

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are very open for everything! Please talk to us, if you have something in mind!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

always a game
construction work in the ruin
useing solar power
A big pot of pumkin soup
Actual common area
Saturday is Lac day
Delicious dinner with volunteers and Pascals parents
Pascal and Pia
funny constraction work with Ben and Ryan
Rainy days at Teapot Valley and volunteer Ben wirth his guitar
Shared food
happy duck
Pascal and Pia

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.8)

Cultural exchange: (4.8)

Communication: (5.0)












Host ref number: 131448513547