Discover Vancouver.Hang out with our energetic 7yo son. Biking, parks, outdoor games, swimming. Canada



Favourited 60 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 24 days

  • Badges

    Good Host
    Facebook verified
Join now to contact this host

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

  • Description


    We are looking for somebody now to come join us, ideally from now until June 2020.

    We're a young family of 4 with an energetic 7 yo boy and a charming 5 yo girl. I, Alex, am a tech worker and an artist and my wife works in housing. We live in a cozy heritage house in a pretty quiet neighbourhood, with small vegetable gardens in the front and the back of the house. We spend our weekends getting outside with friends in a park or going on camping trips.

    My sister has been a member of Workaway for a while and said it's been a really positive experience for her. Maybe you've stayed with her in Duncan?

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Language practice

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We're a pretty average young family so you'd get a view in to what typical Canadians live like. The area we live in Hastings sunrise, which is one of Vancouver's oldest neighbourhoods, which is mainly residences with some dense shops along East Hastings St. Hastings-Sunrise and Commercial Drive are very multicultural and represent Canada's mosaic multiculturalism well. We're also avid campers and would take you along on camping trips in the summer. We also ski and cycle, and we'd invite you to share these activities with us. We also live next to the burgeoning micro brewery district, which has a uniquely Vancouver flair to it.

    Taking our kids around the city you'd get the opportunity to explore many cultural sites, including parks, galleries, local neighbourhoods and natural areas.

  • Help


    We're looking for help with taking care of our 6 yo son and 3 yo daughter, keep the house tidy and do some chores around the house, and help a little in our small urban garden. Mostly you'd be with our 6yo son after school or during the day during holidays.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, a little German, a little French

  • Accommodation


    Ground floor private bedroom, twin bed, wifi. Food will be provided. We may not always be available to prepare food (i.e. for breakfasts or lunches, bit you'll be able to help yourself and of course you'll be able to join us for meals we prepare)

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We live in East Vancouver (Hastings-Sunrise), close to Commercial Drive (a fun area with shops and restaurants). We have a lot of transit options available to downtown Vancouver, and over to the North Shore mountains. We also live close to the PNE, lots of parks including New Brighton Park which is large and has a great outdoor swimming pool. We live on bike routes and we are avid cyclists.

    There is a possibility that we could move to North Vancouver within the next year. Our plan is to find a place that has an extra room so we could continue to host a workawayer, and we would invite you to move with us if you wanted to.

    Time off could easily be spent biking around the city and taking in cultural sites, biking (30 mins) over to the North Shore for hikes or relaxing in a forest, taking a walking tour of the over 15 micro-breweries in our neighborhood, relaxing with a book in our garden or a nearby park. We are also close to a community centers that have gyms, pools and ice rinks.

    We have had a few Workaways stay with us and have had very positive experiences.

    With two young kids there is always a lot going on in our house during the day, but in the evenings we tend to be quiet and relax. We're pretty tidy people and we hope that those who stay with us are also help keep the place tidy.

    We eat vegetarian in our house, but we're not all vegetarians. Also, we have a cute black cat that likes to sit on your lap.

    Ideally we'd like workaways to stay with us for a few months up to a year, but we're pretty flexible.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours/day, 5 days/week

Host ref number: 128139926879