Come, help us in the fields and enjoy life with our family in the village of Sukanalu, Sumatra, Indonesia



Favourited 233 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Badges

    Super Host

 Min stay requested: 1 week or less

  • Description


    !!!! We are looking for someone to teach English to our children !!!

    Hi everybody and welcome to North Sumatra!

    My name is johanes, I'm tourism guide and my wife, mala, work in the field. We have three children, Calvin (11), Grace(10) and Noa (3).

    My family and I welcome you to our home in the village of Sukanalu, which is located about 20 km from Berastagi.

    Sukanalu is a small village and people are mostly farmer. The advantage is that it's easy to get good and fresh fruit and vegetable. The local food is very tasty.

    From our village you can observe the sinabung volcano.

    We want people to stay with us for the purpose of cultural sharing and enjoy the experience of the real village life of Indonesia and more precisely of Karo culture! You will feel like a family member with us and you could help us to work in the field.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Farmstay help
    Help around the house
    Language practice
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are from Batak Karo community, we have our own culture, celebration and way of life, you could learn about our tradition and join us if there are events in the community.
    You will learn how is the real life for farmers in Sumatra.

  • Help


    We need help mostly to work in the field as planting new plants as rice, potato, chili, carrot.. , harvesting (coffe) and clean up the plantation from the wild grass.
    Then, you can also help at home, as cooking with my wife, you could learn how to make local and traditional food.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Indonesian: Fluent

  • Accommodation


    We will provide mattress in our own home, you will really live with our family.
    The food will be provide as traditional dishes. 3 times a day, breakfast, lunch and dinner. My wife is a really good cooker.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    During your free time, you can stay and enjoy with our family, have a walk in the village or go around, there's many things to see as waterfall, volcanoes, hot springs.
    I will provide you all the information (I'm tourism guide).

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)

Host ref number: 125926131494