Must Love Dogs and The Outdoors Knoxville, TN, USA


United States

Favourited 127 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends


  • Badges

    Facebook verified

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

  • Description


    We live in the southern part of Knoxville, TN. We live in a part of the city that is more rural and secluded but it's still only a short drive to downtown where there are amazing restaurants, shopping, museums, music venues, theaters etc. We are also very close to the mountains, lakes, rivers, wilderness parks, etc. We love outdoor activities we spend a lot of time hiking, kayaking, rock climbing, and swimming. We have 4 loveable, well behaved dogs and 2 cats that enjoy those same things. I own and operate a dog training business in the area and stay quite busy and my husband, Jerry, works a lot and is also in school studying engineering. Jerry speaks some German but has gotten rusty over the last couple of years and would love to brush up. With our busy schedules, we fall behind on a lot of the things we need to do at home. We would appreciate some helping hands as well as learning about your culture and showing you why we love east Tennnessee so much!

    *️️*️️August - October 2018 Our Best friend Allison and her son Kaiden will be living with us while we assist her preparing her new home. During this time you will help us with her projects and be staying at her house right down the road from ours. The house is almost complete minus the kitchen but you will be able to join all of us for meals anytime at our home.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    Animal Care
    Language practice

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will really enjoy our area. The people are friendly, the sites are beautiful, and the city always has so much going go. We are constantly learning how to be better gardeners so you may learn something right along with us. You will learn about the area's wilderness and wildlife exploring the mountains with us on weekends. You could learn about dog psychology spending time around the house dogs.

  • Help


    I always have a long to do list and could use an extra set of hands to help me tackle some things. We have a decent sized garden that we could use some help with. We are always trying to works towards sustainable living and we have a lot of goals for the future a greenhouse, chicken coop, more garden beds so there is no telling what project we could have going. We could also use some help with our dogs and cleaning. Being a dog trainer, I have things I try to do daily with my dogs but sometimes I just don't have the time so having someone else around to play those games and interact with them would be nice.

    *️️August - October 2018 We need assistance fixing up our best friends house that is right down the road. We will be doing things like clearing out garden beds, painting, and installing flooring.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    German: Intermediate

  • Accommodation


    Enjoy our cozy guests room with walk in closet and private half bath.

    *️️*️️August-October 2018 You will have a room in an unfinished house that my best friend owns right down the street from us. Currently, we are working on renovating her house, while she lives with us temporarily. You will enjoy meals with us at our home.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    You have your weekends to enjoy. We are happy to drive you places when we can. We do a lot in the city and the mountains so we would love to have you along with us. There is also a bus system fairly close by and there is a good taxi system.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    3-5 hours per day

Jerry hiking with Kato, Griffin, and Phoenix
We love mountain tops!
Screened in porch.
Douglas Lake
Gorgeous day at Mt. Cammerer
Guest Room
Gabby, Phoenix, Kato, and Griffin

Host ref number: 125822433297